The Heartwarming Generosity of a Samosa Wala

Tatanagar tales from the chatty dentist

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Read or Die!

--

A food cart vendor smiles at the camera. There is a pile of samosas in front of him. He is dropping something into a wok with hot oil. A man in a dusty shawl is visible behind the cart. Beyond the man in the dusty shawl, the back wheels of the trailer of a 24-wheeled truck are visible.
The samosa cook-salesman at his post. Photo by the author.

Last Saturday, I walked down the street from my dental clinic to this samosa cook/salesman to have some of his samosas. His name is Adalat, which funnily enough means, “Court of Law.”

Adalat makes amazing samosas and serves them hot with potato curry and some chutneys. I usually take his stuff home, but that day, I sat down on the little bench he has for his “dine-in” customers and ate the samosa there in the open air.

The foodcart vendor, still smiling, turns his attention back to his wok. The man in the dusty shawl is now nibbling at a potato snack in his hand. The vehicles on the street beyond them have not moved much in the time between the pictures.
The homeless man in the shawl eating a potato bonda. Photo by the author.

My daughter, Gayatri (she studies computer science in New Delhi and was home for a long weekend), was with me. Gayatri and I were frazzled from wrestling with the software for my dental clinic’s billing system. We were seeking solace in the cheap street food calories provided by the samosas.

As we ate, we saw a homeless man who walked over to the pile of samosas and then back across the street, once or twice.

Gayatri and I were too deep in our hot bowls of samosa and potato curry to pay any heed to the homeless man.

Adalat, however, beckoned to the homeless man and offered him a potato bonda…

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Read or Die!

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.