The Paws of Love

The most unbreakable bond in the world.

Olga Panagiotopoulou
Read or Die!
2 min readApr 21, 2024

--

Megan Shumway

It was a little boy with his dog, nothing much, just the most unbreakable bond in the world, sitting on the doorstep watching the sun as it set. The sun took with it all the good and bad of the day.

They hugged each other, remaining in silence until their thoughts became louder than their words.

The little boy opened his mouth only to say:

“Sometimes I feel really small and unimportant, but then you look at me, and I become the strongest boy in the world. Love does such things. In reality, love is the greatest power of the world. As this day fades away, I don’t care about the football game I played and lost, nor do I think about the exam I failed or the person who was rude to me. I have no place in my heart for those things. At the end of the day, the only thing that matters is that I have you, that I love you, and that you make me feel safe and at home. I exist because you love me, and that gives meaning to my little world. I become the universe with all its stars because of you.”

His dog stayed there, looking at him with the sparkling eyes of love. For he, more than any other dog, knew that his human was the greatest human in the world.

If you’ve reached the end, thank you! Your support means a lot. Feel free to drop a comment and share your thoughts – let’s chit-chat about anything you wish! :)

--

--