Travelling Among Worlds

Because to write means to explore the worlds outside and within

Olga Panagiotopoulou
Read or Die!
4 min readMar 2, 2024

--

Photo by Nicole Baster on Unsplash

We often say that we want to see the world, but which one do we mean?

There are millions of worlds out there:

The one we are in, the one we live when we are with others, the one we live in our minds, and then all those marvelous worlds inside the books.

Photo by Carl Nenzen Loven on Unsplash

I am an adventurer, a discoverer of new lands, a pirate, a wanderer, an explorer.

I want to see the world we live in with its beautiful landscapes.

I would love to swim in every river, bike on every trail, surf in every ocean, and sleep beneath the stars.

Photo by Kevin Benkenstein on Unsplash

And I kind of feel that one life is not enough.

Maybe that’s why I write: to experience millions of lives in just one.

I know I will probably not check all the boxes on my list, but the most important thing is that I will spend my life trying to.

Photo by Rowan Freeman on Unsplash

I want to visit so many places, to really understand the world and write about it.

I’m currently visiting Narnia, and it is so unique to be there. I open C. S. Lewis’s books, and I feel like it draws me in.

I disappear as if I wore the golden ring and then come back to reality, impatiently waiting for my next visit and adventure.

Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

That’s the magic of books; you can travel in time and space without even moving.

You can make so many friends that will still live inside you after many years of closing that book.

Those friends will be the most loyal ones because, in your greatest struggles, they will pop up in your head. They will be your hand and help you continue the story; they will lend their voice when you feel like losing yours until you feel ready again.

Photo by Totte Annerbrink on Unsplash

Books are travels with one-way tickets; you never really get back from them. You keep going, keeping them whole inside. You close inside so many worlds that they become yours.

Those who don’t read and don’t write lose all the essence of being alive.

Photo by Joe Yates on Unsplash

I was born to be an explorer, and that’s why I can’t see myself being anything else than a writer.

Because to write means to explore the worlds outside and within.

So keep this article as a reminder for the days you feel lost and want to give up, for the days you feel like drawing and not belonging because writing is hard and being a writer is exhausting.

Yes, it is hard, and it is the most difficult, exciting, amazing journey of your life. It doesn’t only transform you and make you better, but it does this to everyone around you.

Keep exploring, keep bleeding your soul out, and keep tapping those keys; great things are happening to those who dare and never give up!

If you’ve reached the end, thank you! Your support means a lot. Feel free to drop a comment — let’s chit-chat about anything you wish! :)

--

--