What a Man Can Do, a Woman Can Do Also

Are there tasks you can do without asking for help?

Adedolapo Sobaloju
Read or Die!
2 min readJul 10, 2024

--

Photo by Pim Chu on Unsplash

Women have hidden potential that can only be discovered if they search within themselves. There are many skilled tasks men perform, but that doesn’t mean women aren’t equally capable.

What are the tasks you can perform without help from the opposite gender?

There are countless women out there who can operate machines just like men. I’m a living testimony. While in Nigeria, I could operate a generator; switching it on wasn’t a problem for me. Pulling the rope can be hard for some ladies, but it isn’t for me.

I can also change electric bulbs without needing a man’s help. I can repair some minor home appliances, too. When our standing fan stopped rotating, my little sister and I turned into overnight engineers and made it work. How did we repair it? I can’t remember, but we did. When my system charger got spoiled and I needed to charge it, I brought out my tools – knife, cello tape, paper tape, and scissors – and got to work. I repaired it myself.

Someone once said that few women can kill a chicken, but I’m one of the few. I can also dress it.

How do I know all this?

I grew up in a place where everyone learns irrespective of gender. “There are things you should learn so that when you’re living alone, you won’t find it hard,” my aunt said.

This has helped me a lot.

What tasks can you do without help from a second party?

Dolly ❤️

--

--

Adedolapo Sobaloju
Read or Die!

Welcome to my bio. let's sail into the sea of creativity