What I Have, Anyone can Have,

But what I am, No one else can be

Gratiela Grigorini
Read or Die!

--

Photo taken by the author

I do not come from a wealthy family. Neither of my parents had the opportunity for a higher education, and neither received an education in childhood that emphasized learning and culture. They both grew up in families of agricultural workers who relied on their own yards and gardens for survival, raising animals and cultivating vegetables.

Although their financial resources were limited, they did everything possible to ensure that my brother and I could attend good higher education institutions in our country. Even though they couldn’t guide us culturally, they were always there for us morally and emotionally. And they still are.

We live in a former communist country, and consequently, the cultural boom and the emancipation of the population over the last 30 years have been explosive, at least on the surface and in terms of appearances. Deep down, we still live in an acute cultural indoctrination and a lack of vision as a nation(but this is a purely personal opinion).

So, we had different opportunities compared to our parents. But accessing those opportunities requires financial power, which we didn’t have.

Looking back at the sacrifices my parents made so that my brother and I could have a different path in life, I feel that I didn’t…

--

--