What would your worst fear be?

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2023
a frightened woman. Photo by Russell Ferrer on Unsplash

Have you read 1984? George Orwell’s novel of a dystopian Britain in 1984. Orwell wrote the book in 1947 and it was his fictitious view of the future.

I have read it three times. The last time in 1984, and I was worried then how things were beginning to resemble Orwell’s 1984. I dread to think what I would feel like if I read it today.

The novel introduced us to the term big brother, newspeak and among others, Room 101.

For some years, a TV show with the title Room 101 was aired here in the UK. I don’t know if it was shown anywhere else. The idea behind the show was some celebrities would pick two things that annoyed them and wanted them to be put into room 101.I hear the show is coming back with the same format. I think it comes under the heading of light entertainment.

However, George Orwell’s room 101 was not a room where people faced the things they did not like, but the thing they feared the most.

In Orwell’s novel, Winston Smith’s biggest fear was rats. The reason for this was his baby sister had been killed and eaten by rats.

Hardly light entertainment.

If you were ever put into Room 101, what would your worst fear be?

Join Medium by using my referral link.

More articles from me.

This time I did nearly die.

Do you think I should be ashamed of what I did?

Why do people do this stupid thing.

--

--