Who’s In Charge Of The English Language?

Writes By Tiffany
Read or Die!
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2024

A Short English Lesson For Us All

Photo by 2Photo Pots on Unsplash

Who’s The Culprit

Raise your hand if you’re the one to blame!! 😠

Who would do such a thing to us? To make these words look and sound so similar but their meanings be so different?

The Blame Goes On Homophones!!

Are They Trying To Make Us Look Like Fools?

Because that’s how it makes us feel.

Do we stand back and allow our friends to type such silliness, knowing it makes no sense? We don’t want to hurt their feelings, so we keep quiet.

Or….

Maybe we are the type of person that does say something! We call our piers out on their mistakes!

“You say you’re trying to loose some weight, huh? Good luck with that!!”

Loose vs Lose

A very common grammar mistake. I see it all the time. Don’t worry.

☆ If your pants are falling off, they’re loose. My jeans are loose around my waist.

Pronounced: ‘looce’

☆ If you’re on a diet, you may be hoping to lose some weight. I can’t lose any weight by sitting on this couch!

Pronounced: looze

▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎

“I can’t believe you threw all that food away! What a waist!”

Wait!! What??

Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

Waist vs Waste

☆ If you’re on a diet, you might measure your waist. My waist is now 30 inches, instead of 33 inches! Yay!!

☆ If you’re throwing half a pizza in the trash, that is a waste. I can’t believe you threw all that in the trash, what a waste!

These two words sound the same.

▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎

Next….

“The toddler through herself down on the floor, in a desperate cry for attention!”

No, I promise She Didn’t!

Threw vs Through

☆ If a toddler is throwing a tantrum, she probably threw herself down on the floor.

☆ If you’re running into the forest, you may say you’re running through the forest.

These two words are pronounced the same.

▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎

Let’s Do One More, Because This Is Fun!!

Photo by Heather Barnes on Unsplash

Dessert vs Desert

“When I shared my desert with the group, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe!”

Hmm… did they? Okayy! 🙄

☆ If someone is asking for something yummy, they’re talking about a dessert. “ I made a banana cream pie for dessert.”

Pronounced: deee-zzert

☆ If someone is in Arizona hiking, they might be in the desert. “I saw snakes and scorpions when I was in the desert.”

Pronounced: deh-zert

▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎▪︎

Photo by Ivan Shilov on Unsplash

So, Just Something To Think About While We Are All Writing Our Stories.

Homophones!! They are tricky!!

Don’t let them bring you down!

PS: Don’t forget the daily challenges we face with there, they’re, and their!!

Also with to, too, and two!!

And your and you’re!!

Those are the Real Culprits!!

😉😃 Happy Writing!! 😉😃

Thank you for reading! 💟

--

--

Writes By Tiffany
Read or Die!

I love writing short stories, poetry, even a little dab in Erotica. I write what's in my heart, experiences, loss, lessons. Writing is a deep thinker's escape.