Habits

Why Is Good Behavior Hard to Break? Based on My Experience

And what I learned from the book Atomic Habits

Oliver Romsen
Read or Die!
Published in
5 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

Disclaimer: I’m not giving self-improvement advice. I am reporting the results based on my experience.

I remember deciding that I wanted to write online in 2013. I wanted to help people live healthier lives and make money writing online. After two or three blog posts, I stopped writing and only wrote again two years later. I wrote online intermittently for the next few years until I found a writing habit I stuck to in 2019.

However, I’ve been doubting myself for the past two years. My views dropped considerably. Nobody seemed to care about my writing, and I had no clients, so I stopped earning money. I stopped writing for a few months and almost quit for good, but nobody noticed when I left.

Yet, here I am, writing again. I don’t consider myself a natural at writing; I am an unknown, don’t have legions of adoring fans, and don’t even think I’m good at it. But why am I still writing?

The seed was planted back in 2011

Since 2002, I’ve tried to stay healthy but haven’t found the consistency to keep off the unwanted weight. I’d follow an exercise routine, lose weight, and build muscle…

--

--