I can not stop myself from doing 2022

James Battaglia
The Occasional Post
6 min readJan 1, 2023

I don’t get into a ton of new stuff every year, but here’s some of the new stuff I got into this year.

Andor

One of the best Star Wars shows to come out this year, Andor earned loads of praise from people who hate Star Wars by not including a single lightsaber scene.

Avatar: The Way of Water

I love Avatar. I love BBC Planet Earth ocean episodes. This movie is both, in spectacular 3D, on an enormous IMAX screen.

The Art of Meditation

Sigur Rós, Alan Watts, Ram Dass, and more feature on this blissful instrumental lecture album.

The Banshees of Inisherin

This isn’t a ranked list, but if it were Banshees would be №1.

Barbarian

I‘m not going to spoil this one for you. If you like horror movies and haven’t seen it yet, congratulations and enjoy!

Cult of the Lamb

It’s a version of Animal Crossing with more complex villager management requirements, plus a version of Hades with less complex combat. Join the cult on Switch or Steam Deck if you’ve got one.

The Dropout

A tight miniseries with unnervingly good acting, The Dropout manages to be informative, dramatic, and most importantly entertaining.

Elden Ring

I didn’t love Elden Ring like I loved Bloodborne. I quit to play the Demon’s Souls remake and enjoyed that more, too. But the 19 hours I spent in The Lands Between felt like three, so I plan to return in 2023.

Expert in a Dying Field

I got to this one late but I’ve already listened to it all the way through a bunch of times.

Fortnite

I came back to Fortnite this year, after a long time away, just for the Dragonball Z skins. I stayed for the fresh new Zero Build mode.

Fossora

Björk is back with the year’s best album to listen to in a car, with the volume up and unexpected sounds coming from every direction.

Four Nights Live in San Francisco

Dr. Dog retired from touring in 2021. This quadruple album covering their four-night stint in San Francisco from February 2020 is a career-spanning slapper to keep fans like me sated until they (hopefully) get back to the studio in 2023.

Giant Palm

Naima Bock’s debut was my most listened to album of the year. You’ll notice something new in the production each time you revisit it. Try this one with headphones.

God of War: Ragnarok

Ragnarok holds a stronger narrative in its beginning and end than in the lengthy middle, but its AAA status shows in the gameplay. I’ll not champion the many puzzle segments. Still, the combat is always satisfying and never stale.

Immortality

From the makers of Her Story and Telling Lies, Immortality utilizes one of the most interesting and individual modes of storytelling to emerge in 2022. Check it out for free on iOS devices if you have a Netflix subscription.

The Jacket

Another late edition to their list, Widowspeak’s Jacket just checks a lot of my personal boxes.

Lapvona

Lapvona is disgusting and pathetic and funny and easily my favorite book of the year.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga

The Lost Metal

The Lost Metal manages to wrap up Mistborn Era 2 while pulling in elements from the rest of Brandon Sanderson’s Cosmere to hint at a wider future to the story heading into Era 3 (and the back half of the Stormlight stories).

Medicine Singers

No Man’s Sky

I was concerned about long load times, so I didn’t grab NMS for Switch until it went on sale. Those worries were unfounded! This is the best way to play the game outside VR. Relaxed mode with unlimited money is the way to go.

Overwatch 2

I will not apologize for loving Overwatch. The battle pass could use some improvements, but the core gameplay from the original game is intact and as addictive as ever. One more match, again and again.

The Passenger/Stella Maris

Oh look it’s literature.

Pokémon

Legends: Arceus is the first game in the series to prioritize catching ‘’em all over beating a random four final bosses in a row. Scarlet/Violet has the best story the franchise has ever seen. Ash is finally the best there ever was. 2022 was Pokémon’s year.

Prey

Prey was my favorite movie of the year until December. So close!

The Rehearsal

Watch it.

Spiro World

Another one I had on repeat for a while in 2022, Time Wharp’s instrumental album is a good one to listen to at work.

Tales of the Jedi

Star Wars needed a series of self-contained 15-minute stories. Episode 5 will crush Clone Wars fans.

Tokyo Vice

I love this show, even though the season ended clumsily. Season 2 is one of the shows I’m most looking forward to in 2023.

Vampire Survivors

“One more round” is a dangerous thing when the goal of each round is to survive 30 minutes. That’s how you end up accidentally playing a game for hours. Vampire Survivors is a free phone app, so try it at your own risk.

Versions of a Modern Performance

Watch My Moves

I haven’t gotten to: Aftersun, Crimes of the Future, X, Pearl, Everything Everywhere All At Once, Tár, Citizen Sleeper, After Yang, The Novelist: A Novel, Sea of Tranquility, The Bear, The Patient

--

--