My Year with Meryl Streep: Defending Your Life (1991)

Defending Your Life is my all-time favorite Meryl Streep movie. Here’s why.

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by 12019 at Pixabay

I recently spent a whole year watching a Meryl Streep film every week, and I thought I’d share with you some of the reviews I wrote for her many classic films!

Defending Your Life (1991)

Meryl has appeared in so many great movies that it can be hard to pick a favorite. Many would make a case for Sophie’s Choice, or Out of Africa, or Kramer vs. Kramer. Death Becomes Her has its rabid fans, and The Devil Wears Prada is a modern comedy classic. Meryl’s performances have been nominated for Academy Awards in twenty-one movies, so you might assume my favorite would be one of those. You might also assume, at the very least, that my favorite film of hers would feature her in the lead role.

These assumptions couldn’t be further from the truth: my all-time favorite Meryl movie is one of her lesser-known works, one she didn’t win any awards for, and one in which she plays a supporting role. Albert Brooks’ Defending Your Life is an enchanting motion picture that also happens to be my favorite comedy of all time.

--

--