My Year with Meryl Streep: Marvin’s Room (1996)

A look at one of Meryl Streep’s most underrated films!

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by Denise Jans at Unsplash

I recently spent a whole year watching a Meryl Streep film every week, and I thought I’d share with you some of the reviews I wrote for her many classic films!

Marvin’s Room (1996)

If there’s one drama Meryl made that she didn’t receive an Oscar nomination for, but one I feel she absolutely deserved one for, it’s Marvin’s Room. Released at the end of 1996 to mostly great acclaim by critics, this endlessly absorbing film unfortunately stalled at the box office and received only a few significant awards nominations.

While Meryl received yet another Golden Globe nomination for her performance, she was passed over at the Academy Awards in favor of Diane Keaton, who earned a nomination in Meryl’s place. There might have been some confusion as to whether Meryl should have been submitted in the Lead or Supporting Actress category, but no matter — her performance as Lee in Marvin’s Room is one of her best of the 1990s, and certainly one of her most entertainingly vitriolic. The film is also a real winner, one of my favorites of her entire career.

--

--