My Year with Meryl Streep: The River Wild (1994)

A look at Meryl Streep’s one and only action film!

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by David Mark at Pixabay

I recently spent a whole year watching a Meryl Streep film every week, and I thought I’d share with you some of the reviews I wrote for her many classic films!

The River Wild (1994)

I miss the ’90s. I miss Super Nintendo, and my best friend Brandon, and my second grade teacher Mrs. Uribe. I also miss that magical period when action blockbusters relied not on special effects but on actual suspense, and performances that delivered.

1994 was an excellent year for action movies, with Speed and True Lies making big impressions, and The River Wild, released that September, being one of the most exciting releases of all — and not just because visual effects don’t drive the film. The film has a solid story, characters that make sense, and a breathless climax. It also remains the one and only action movie that Meryl has ever made.

Death Becomes Her had been Meryl’s most surprising and daring film yet, but The

--

--