Why Fragments are So Important in Your Writing

You might have been taught to avoid fragments at all costs. But trust me — fragments are extremely helpful to your writing!

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by StockSnap at Pixabay

The poor fragment. Why is it hated so?

Throughout high school I was taught to never use a fragment. That every sentence I wrote had to be a complete sentence. That my work would be marked down if I included even one lone fragment.

The truth is each genre of writing comes with its own set of rules and expectations.

The reason we learn in high school never to use fragments is that, for the most part, academic writing shouldn’t have fragments.

I would argue that the occasional fragment is acceptable if you’re relating a personal story or allowed to give the piece a little of your own voice. But if the piece is meant for a job application, or for a strict professor who has no sense of humor, then yes, you would be best served to write in only complete sentences.

For the longest time, I struggled to allow myself to write fragments. Even in my novels.

--

--