Why the 1938 Film Version of ‘A Christmas Carol’ is the Best

There are plenty of film adaptations of Charles Dickens’ classic work, but I think the best is the 1938 version!

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by Prawny at Pixabay

A Christmas Carol (1938)

How many film versions have there been of this story? 10? 20?

When I think of this story, the first image that pops into my head is the lovable but mad-as-hell Scrooge McDuck in Mickey’s Christmas Carol. I have such a fondness for that version of the story that I recently went on Amazon and shelled out the money for a collection of animated shorts that houses that very film (which has a running time of less than 30 minutes!).

The second film I think of is the Muppet Christmas Carol, with the terrific Michael Caine in the leading role, and the large Muppet ensemble cast lending support.

The purely live-action versions of the story I don’t have much of a memory of. I remember as a kid seeing a black-and-white version of the story, maybe the one made in 1951?

This story never dies, and neither do the movies.

Here’s another adaptation up for review: the 1938 version. I had no recollection of having seen any images from this film, and I must say, even though the story is…

--

--