Why ‘The Wizard of Oz’ is the Greatest Family Film of All Time

Is there any family film more perfect or enchanting than The Wizard of Oz?

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by skeeze at Pixabay

The Wizard of Oz (1939)

Some movies are so timeless that they cease to exist as movies. They become living, breathing things. It’s hard to think of The Wizard of Oz as just another movie because it’s left such a huge impression on me, as it has done I’m sure for many generations of movie lovers.

I can honestly say that my earliest memory of loving a film and acknowledging the power of a movie was in watching The Wizard of Oz back when I was a kid. The switch from black and white to color was drastic and noticeable to even the youngest of eyes, and I remember at a very young age trying to decipher what had just happened on that screen. I don’t know what it would have been like for audiences in 1939, who were used to seeing everything in black-and-white, but even in the late 80s, when everything I was seeing was in color, it worked wonders on my senses.

What a classic this is. Eighty years since its release, The Wizard of Oz is still charming entertainment that works as well for kids as it does for adults.

--

--