You Can Write Your Novel with Just 200 Words a Day

You should always strive for more, but keep in mind you can write a novel in less than a year with just 200 words a day!

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

I write on average 2,000 words a day when I’m drafting a new novel.

This last December and January I wrote my nineteenth novel, a middle grade ghost story. I started writing it the day after I turned in my final grades for the fall semester at the college I currently work at, and I finished writing the first draft soon before I began my spring semester. I took Christmas Day off, but that’s it. Every other day I was actively writing the first draft of the manuscript.

How many words a day did I write? About 2,000–2,200 words. Three days I came in a bit short at around 1,800 words. Three or more days I wrote a lot more than 2,200 words.

Why do I write these many words a day? Well, it’s what I’m used to. Since I wrote my first novel in 2010, I’ve always aimed for 2,000 words a day. It’s how I’ve written nineteen novels in nine years. It’s how I’m able to produce a complete manuscript in just three and a half weeks.

Yes, when many teachers like myself are taking some time off, I’m hard…

--

--