Localisation and Web Literacy for Schools

#mozsprint 2017 Interview Series

Mozilla Open Leaders
Read, Write, Participate
4 min readMay 19, 2017

--

Drashti (@drashtipandya1) is a computer science student, a founding member of the Mozilla Gujarat community and an open data contributor to OpenStreetMap. Her enthusiasm for teaching the web led her to start the project “Localisation of Schools”. She joined Mozilla Open Leaders to work on this project and help more students in her state learn about the web.

I interviewed Drashti to learn more about “Localisation of Schools” and how you can help June 1–2 at #mozsprint.

What is Localisation of Schools?

This project is about creating a bridge between newbies on Internet and remote volunteers who don’t have time to go and teach them regularly. We are localizing web literacy content to create an accessible place for school kids to be educated in their local language. The organization will produce short lectures in the form of YouTube videos in localized Indian language for teachers and parents to understand as an introduction, with a vision to encourage and teach other people to contribute and localize their web literacy content. The website will also include supplementary practice exercises and tools for educators. All resources will be open source and available to users of the website. The website and its content will be provided mainly in Indian dialects, but contributors are also encouraged to localize content in their local languages like French, Spanish, Botswana.

Why did you start Localisation of Schools?

This is another story, I am interested in web literacy and I love to know culture, local food, and meet people. One day I had a chance to visit a village to teach the web. It took me 3 hour to reach there 🙁. Even if I really want to return and help them again, I can’t do it because of time constraints. This idea came as a solution to this problem. Maybe there are many people like me who are willing to part of a web literacy campaign but a hurdle like time stops them from doing a good thing. Not finding the right audience, or stage fright or anything else.

What problems have you run into while working on this project?

Currently I am struggling to build and maintain the website. I am also video editing to cut videos into smaller parts based on a topic and making notes.

What kind of skills do I need to help you?

Skills needed: web development, documentation, video editors.

I am creating videos in local languages. There are videos available in all Indian local language on the government’s YouTube channel. It can be reused to make any other languages by creating audio based on the subtitles the github repo. Currently, I am writing a contributing file that shows how someone can add their recorded audio in existing videos. I am making notes and assignment for each video like this and planning to make an interesting activity. To do that, I need help with documentation and some design thinking.

How can others join your project at #mozsprint 2017?

If they are conducting web literacy session they can use these videos. That is our goal for after the sprint. We’re also looking for web developement, animated video creators, audio for localized videos, and documentation so others can join us to promote web literacy. There are three characters in video for 3 people to record audio in local language. It will be a fun activity as well as useful for others.

Read more in our GitHub Repo and issues. If anyone has questions they can join our gitter channel or tweet me.

How has Open Leadership Training (OLT) helped you?

I know the solution of my problem but I don’t how to proceed. Seed is not enough to grow a tree. It need sunlight, fertilizer, water etc. OLT helps me understand how to work openly. My mentor (Baratang) helps organize my tasks, gives new insight to my project and encourages me to go further.

What meme or gif best represents your project?

From Giphy

Join us wherever you are June 1–2 at the Mozilla Global Sprint to work on Localisation of Schools and many other projects! Join a diverse network of scientists, educators, artists, engineers and others in person and online to hack and build projects for a health Internet. Get your tickets now!

--

--

Mozilla Open Leaders
Read, Write, Participate

A cohort of Open Leaders fueling the #internethealth movement through mentorship & training on working open. Work Open, Lead Open #WOLO mzl.la/openleaders