Batman: Death of The Family

The Macabre Joker, My Love.

Audrey Andini
Reader Mortis
1 min readApr 2, 2018

--

Day 2 Book 1

Story: Scott Snyder

Illustrator: Greg Capullo

This graphic novel is not a part of my book challenge, since I already finished it on December 2017. But since I haven’t had a chance to read today, but strangely a will to write, so I thought I’d share my (very) short take on this beautifully macabre book.

Me, trying to capture the rotten beauty of Joker with wilted flower.

First of all, this graphic novel portrays Joker-Batman homoerotic relationship like never before. The hint of Joker can’t live without Batman and vice versa is still prevalent, of course.

With Death Of The Family, Snyder tells a Joker story that I bet will never be on film because it will be NC 17 as hell. Backed with Capullo slasher visuals, this Joker is terribly frightening. Joker’s rotting face mask is sickening from the start and many panels just made me dropped my jaw in awe of the horrible things this Joker did and what Batman had become.

Beyond the gore and stunning atmosphere, I appreciate this novel’s take on the Batman/Joker relationship. So beautiful yet tragic. Disgusting yet you can’t take your eyes off it. Try and read it if you love Batman/Joker stories. I mean, who doesn’t?

--

--