25 More Reasons Why You Don’t Read and How to Overcome Them

Continued… (See the first 25 as a reminder)

Teronie Donaldson
Readers Hope

--

Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

Whenever people see me with a book, they say, “I wish I could read more, but I just don’t have the time?”

I usually tell them, “You definitely have the time; it just has to be a priority or at least more important than what’s on your phone.” I used to claim the same thing until I realized where my time went.

When I mention that I read 1–3 books per week, they ask me, “How are you able to read so much?” and I give them a variation of the same answer — Reading is a significant priority in my life because it provides me with so many benefits.

But what happens when you don't read at all but want to? The key to gaining any new habit is taking baby steps, but if you don't like to read, the first step is figuring out why.

And once you know why, it becomes easier to decide if you want to stay a non-reader or become a reader.

Here are 25 more reasons why you don't read and how to overcome them:

  1. You’re too self-critical. Solution: Don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t understand something right away. Take your time and allow yourself to make mistakes.
  2. You don’t know how to choose good books

--

--

Teronie Donaldson
Readers Hope

Student of life. I write about books, productivity, reading, and applying what I learned. I hope it helps. *Check me out *https://linktr.ee/Teronie