Ask Yourself This Question to Get Out Of A Rut

Shoaib Ahmed
Readers Hope
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2024
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Have you ever felt stuck in a rut?

Like your turning the wheels, but your stuck in mud.

Moving but not moving.

Like the slightest movement forward requires a mammoth effort. So you sit and wait for motivation to strike like a bolt of lightning. For someone to come along and give you a push.

What if instead of focusing on big actions, you focused on making small movements.

Small actions.

That don't seem like much but add up to big actions.

Big actions that create momentum. Like a snowball rolling down a hill. They start small and slowly build and build until they become self sustaining and push you further than you thought you would go.

This week's prompt can help you find that small action.

I came across this question in Sahil Bloom's weekly newsletter.

In the issue, Sahil talks about manufacturing momentum to get yourself out of a rut.

His favourite method for helping to build momentum is focusing on Minimum Viable Progress. Focus on doing something small as anything above zero will compound and build momentum.

To help yourself identify what that small action is, Sahil recommends asking the following question:

What is 1 tiny action that would create momentum?

Here's how I'm planning to use this week's prompt:

For the last few months, I've fallen out of routine and I've not been as organised as I should be.

I've felt in a bit of a rut at times.

So I'm planning to use this prompt to help me identify the small actions that will help me build momentum to get me back to where I want to be.

If you like this idea and want to read more from Sahil about this, you can check out the full article here.

Thank you for being part of The Kaizen Club.

We share 1 journal prompt each week to help you grow step-by-step, unlock your potential and shape the life you want.

Until next week.

Stay Thriving,
Shoaib

PS: Do you want to start journaling, but you're not sure where to start?

Check out my weekly newsletter.

Each Saturday, I send out one journal prompt I've found.

You can check out the latest issue here.

--

--

Shoaib Ahmed
Readers Hope

I write about self development and interesting ideas i have come across