POETRY

Catfish Parishoner

Lust For A Pastor

AC0040
Readers Hope

--

Photo by Garin Chadwick on Unsplash

“But you’re married,” Nora said, her voice blended with desire and restraint, reflecting the forbidden love that had blossomed between them.
Luke, his heart pounding, heard Nora’s words. He saw the conflict in her eyes; the battle between her longing and her principles was a bitter struggle, piercing his soul like an Alaska winter’s chill.
Luke, the devil, came fit, wearing a white dress shirt with a loosened black tie and dark jeans that hugged his thighs. Luke had pale skin with stubble along his jawline, thick, dark hair, and green eyes.
Nora had what she wanted and would stop at nothing to avoid losing it. “It’s not you,” Nora said, playing with her hands.
Luke, feeling the weight of his desires, sighed and moved to the kitchen sink. The fading light of the setting sun cast long shadows as if the day itself were chasing its own end.
Nora entered the kitchen with her hands shoved inside her back pockets.
“You’re right.” Luke rubbed his face as if to erase the lust burning in his chest.
“Besides,” Nora said, “you’re my pastor.”
Luke gave a reluctant assent with a curt nod. “What am I doing?” he said what he meant to think out loud. Luke lowered his head to avoid God’s reply. “I’m not perfect, you know?”
Nora looped her arms around her waist. “I called you for counseling,” Nora said, motioning, “and you try to kiss me?” She drew out her last four words.
“You gave a sermon about fidelity a month ago.” Nora looked him up and down. “The funny thing is, I thought you meant it.”
“I did,” Luke said, waving his arms in defense. “Erin left me.”
“But you guys looked so happy,” Nora said. “What happened?”
“Life.” He gave an exasperated stare and lifted and lowered his hands. “Life happened.”
“An office crush turned into a romance?”
“No.” Luke shook his head. “Online.”
“Why didn’t you tell the church?”
Tears spread across Luke’s face. “How can I help others when I couldn’t save my marriage?” Luke asked as though he wanted her to answer.
Nora shrugged. “Start with telling the truth.”
“You think they’ll forgive me?” A desperation she hadn’t seen before baked into his eyes, his vulnerability piercing her heart.
“I have,” Nora said. “God has mercy, right? He forgives those who truly repent and strive to change.”
“God is love,” Luke recalled, moving his fingers through his hair.
The coffeemaker ground coffee beans, forced steam through the espresso machine, and spread hazelnut through the living room.
“Have a seat,” Nora said, motioning him to the living room.
She filled two cups with decaf brew, added a splash of whole milk, and returned the carton to the fridge. She grabbed the two cups and entered the room with cream walls and pictures of her parents and friends. The TV played the news, but she muted the sound. Nora turned the stereo to ’90s pop.
“Here, good sir.” Nora served him coffee.
He took a sip and set it on the coffee table.
“Is something wrong?” Nora sipped her coffee and took a seat in her recliner.
Luke hiked a brow. “Who is this?” Luke held up a photo.
“Beats me.” Nora lit a death stick.
“Erin left me for this guy,” Luke said with a twitch on his lips.
Nora exhaled a slender smoke ring, its ethereal form swirling through the air. “It was so easy,” she exclaimed, a mischievous glint in her eyes as she leaned forward.
Luke narrowed his eyes. “It was you,” Luke said.
“Catfishing Erin was easy,” she said, “and fun.” Nora winked and tapped ash into an ashtray.
“I don’t know whether to be upset or impressed.”
“Oh, please,” Nora said. “You wanted to kiss me a while ago.”
Luke stood off the leather sofa and paced. “How long have you known about the divorce?”
Nora put out her smoke. “This is the first time I’m hearing about a divorce.” Nora chuckled.
“And here you thought I was the devil.”
“Your ex-wife is in Mexico waiting for Julio.”
Luke shook his head, and then his smile stretched over his teeth.
“Hopefully, she’ll find what she wants,” Nora said, turning to Luke. “Because I know I have.”
They kissed.

(© 2024 AC)

(Amazon Kindle, Spillwords, The Writers Club)

Other posts at Reader’s Hope.

--

--

AC0040
Readers Hope

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. Nonprofit. Education. I write short stories and poems.