From Night Owl to Day Bird

My journey from being a moonlight-loving creature to becoming a cheerful morning person

Niharika Kaur Kakar
Readers Hope
3 min readOct 2, 2023

--

Photo by Rob Potter on Unsplash

One night, my body whispered,
‘Hey, Night owl, where have you been?

I saw you hanging on the tree of dreams,
like a dance under the moonlight’s gleam.

Beneath the sparkling stars so high,
You seemed lost in the vast, dark sky.

Are you searching for the bird that lights the world?
Take my hand, and I will take you there.

Hand in hand, we walked,
To embrace the morning, bold and free.

I remember that night in November, sitting in the cold winter air. It was then that my body initiated a heartfelt conversation with my soul, expressing its daily discomfort. Staying awake every night was affecting my body’s organs, with digestion weakening and leading to irregular hunger. My eyesight deteriorated as my eyeglass prescription increased month by month. Obesity reflected on my body and my face? Well, it started resembling a pastry, with dark circles telling tales of epic late-night battles.

I hardly realized when this habit became so permanent and my own routine, which resembled nobody else’s at home, took shape. All I remember is that I used to hide under the excuse that I was studying the whole night. As it actually started reflecting on my report card with a 94%, they believed me and stopped nagging.

Of course, I continued staying up late, juggling early morning classes and sleeping until late afternoon during holidays. This unhealthy lifestyle persisted for years, transforming my routine from being a ‘Night Owl’ to more of a ‘Vampire.’

From that alarming day until now, I have consistently tried to improve myself. Now I have reached a state where my eyes start rolling out by 10 pm. And oh, the benefits! Imagine waking up to the gentle kiss of the sunrise on your face, not the blaring alarm clock. I’m more active throughout the day, enjoying breakfast like a champ. I feel more productive and healthy and not a zombie during the day. I am more connected with the world, no longer lost in the shadows of the night.

Although waking up late helped me score good grades, it also made me an unattractive person while growing up. I felt that I never fit in with the other kids from school and college. If I had adopted the habit of waking up early, it would have helped me score well and fit in with my age group, allowing me to have more friends.

When I look back at that drowsy Niharika who felt drained the whole day and could take a nap even while standing, I feel pity. But as the clock struck 12, she became super active, all geared up, feeling like a night guard. The only benefit I saw was that my family could sleep in peace, thinking the guard was good enough to protect them from thieves.

Curious about how I improved my sleep cycle? The most effective strategies that aided in improving my sleep cycle involved reducing caffeine intake after dinner and avoiding heavy meals close to bedtime. Additionally, I made a conscious effort to minimize screen exposure, including phones, TVs, and computers, for at least an hour before bedtime. Though I may not have become an early bird entirely, I now wake up by 7 am and sleep by 11 pm.

This is my journey from being a night owl, a creature whose natural habitat was the glow of a laptop screen, to becoming a day bird. This was the sweet transition I underwent where making small yet significant changes can lead to overall well-being. It taught me that the body has its unique way of communicating with us, and we should listen to it. So, here’s to embracing our body’s unique signals, enjoying those sunny mornings, and living our best, well-rested lives!

Photo by Jack Cohen on Unsplash

--

--