From Opera to TikTok: The Transformation of Performing Arts in the Digital Age

Varun Vijay
Readers Hope
Published in
9 min readMay 21, 2024

--

Image crafted through my creative process in Microsoft Designer

“We are getting old you know… not sure how long we can keep this show running. If the next generation doesn’t want to show up, I don’t see the point of paying it forward. Have you tried everything you know? If personal invites don’t work, I have no clue how to bring them here”, said the chief sponsor and organizer of the Opera, wiping the beads of sweat from his wrinkled forehead and silver-blonde eyebrows. Sensing the desperation in his voice, I said “ Have you tried posting a TikTok or Reel to promote the show instead?”. His response “Posting a what ?”

The above conversation took place when my wife and I tried something new for a date night — going to an Opera named “Carmen” in a suburb near Toronto. It was an unforgettable experience with live music and an amazing ambiance. The audience was mostly from the older demographic, with few young faces in the crowd. I met the show’s organizers during the break, and sadly came to know that, it would be the last show in their community, due to lack of overall support and sponsors. This conversation got me thinking. Why do some performing arts slip away from the mainstream? Am I witnessing a “survival of the fittest” in the realm of performing arts? Or is it technology that always dictated our tastes and preferences?

Where do we start?

--

--

Varun Vijay
Readers Hope

A resilient and adaptable coffee powered lifeform. Superpowers include critical thinking, intellectual curiosity and wielding the crystal ball of futurism.