I Made $1000 From a Mobile Game I Designed in One Day, Without Coding

The title says it all so let’s just jump into the story.

Anonwit
Readers Hope
Published in
4 min readNov 18, 2022

--

I am a doctor which has nothing to do with computer programming. However, since I was 15 years old I taught myself how to code at an acceptable level. It was my hobby. I know some Python, JavaScript, HTML, and CSS.

Enter college in 2015. My best friend and I decided we wanted to make some money. Just a small amount so we could go out on the weekend with (aka beer money).

That’s when we made a mobile game that we published on iOS and Android for free. The idea was we would gain money from in-game ads. Also, we didn’t use any code AT ALL. Yes, that’s right. We just used one of those no-coding game-building software, and guess what. We made it. We hit $1000.

Here’s how:

I came across Buildbox. This is a game development software that requires no coding. It comes along with some templates, to begin with, which you modify to fit your idea.

As an inspiration, I used the Dinosaur game (aka Chrome Dino). In case you are not familiar with it, it is a browser game built into the Google Chrome browser.

Author’s screenshot of the Dinosaur Game on Google Chrome

I decided to make a similar game but with flamingos. Well, it sounds kinda strange as I am…

--

--