SUSTAINABILITY

Implementing Sustainability Practices in New Parenthood

Doing my part in the shift towards a healthier and happier future

Nat Galushkin
Readers Hope

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

While four months pregnant, I walked into a well-known baby store.

Overwhelmed, I couldn't help but walk out empty-handed.

Do babies really need all of this stuff?

Entering the realm of new parenthood was an adjustment, to say the least. From the first positive pregnancy test, to the kicks that came in waves, the thought of bringing a human into the world was daunting. I didn’t know the first thing about babies, and that included the items needed to care for them.

Looking back, I now know that there is a huge market when it comes to these little humans. This may be why new parents, like I was, are often confused as to what is necessary to take care of a child.

I noticed one thing being promoted by retailers, advertisements and Pinterest, and that is:

You need a lot of things for a baby.

Things I didn’t have the desire, nor the money, to buy. Things that would probably be used once or twice, for a limited time, if at all. Things that would ultimately end up in the trash.

I knew there had to be other options.

I needed to try my best to do better.

I didn’t want to contribute even more to the unnecessary waste already present. I couldn’t afford to, no pun intended.

That is where my imperfect journey towards sustainable parenthood began.

Side note: Some may say it is impossible to live in promotion of a sustainable lifestyle while being a parent. I say otherwise, but this article is not about that.

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

Practicing minimalism

Since my husband and I had been living a fairly minimal lifestyle already, it was no surprise that I began to explore the idea of minimalism with kids.

Minimalism is the number one way my family keeps items from going to landfills. Being more mindful of purchases automatically prevents us from from contributing to waste.

Honestly, I was surprised how little I needed for my child.

Two simple habits that have enabled us, as parents, to live a minimal and clutter-free life are:

  1. Buying as our child grows.
  2. Buying only the bare necessities.
Photo by Carrie Allen www.carrieallen.com on Unsplash

Using reusable alternatives

Here are things we have implemented as parents in the realm of reusable products to help reduce waste:

  • We stopped buying paper towels. We use flour sack towels and use cloth for cleaning, as well. Our kid is messy, and this has worked well for us.
  • We tried cloth diapering. We do not cloth diaper full-time anymore for a few reasons, but some elimination of disposable diaper use is better than none.
  • We started using glass food storage containers to store leftovers and baby food.

Little swaps from one-time-use items to reusable items can make all the difference.

Photo by Jaye Haych on Unsplash

Mindful purchases surrounding feeding

The most obvious way to eliminate the need for waste is to breastfeed. Unfortunately, there are many reasons why someone may not be able to, not have the option, or may not want to.

Prior to having my son, my plan was to breastfeed. I bought digital courses and did in-depth research to be educated prior to his arrival to increase my chances of a successful breastfeeding journey.

Then he was born, and to my surprise, he didn't latch. Apparently, it’s a thing that not many people talk about. I also struggled with a low milk supply. Sadly, I ended up trying everything you could think of to remedy the situation, to no avail.

Despite the challenges that came with breastfeeding, I did my best to be mindful when it came to the purchases surrounding the feeding of my baby.

This may look different for everyone, but our efforts to be sustainable look like this:

  • Having two breast pumps, a portable pump and a wall pump I had borrowed from my sister.
  • Ensuring to buy the correct size flanges and the correct pumping accessories.
  • Owning two bottles.
  • Not buying a formula dispenser, a bottle warmer or sterilizer.
Photo by lucas Favre on Unsplash

Making your own baby food

As a baby gets older and begins to eat solids, you have so many options as to which route you’ll be taking when it comes to weaning.

However, the most sustainable way of feeding your baby will always be preparing food versus buying prepackaged foods from the store.

To avoid buying baby food, look for recipes online on how to make baby food. If you are going the puree route, making baby food in bulk and freezing the food may be a good idea. If you are leaning toward baby-led-weaning practices, you will likely end up feeding the baby what you make for yourselves.

My husband and I did a mix of both spoon-feeding our baby, but also implementing aspects of baby-led-weaning.

Photo by Robinson Greig on Unsplash

Buying secondhand

Shopping secondhand is something I do for just about all the baby items I own, from clothing to toys and books. There are so many great affordable items that can be found in thrift stores, kids’ consignment stores, consignment events, Facebook Marketplace or yard sales.

Secondhand shopping is great because it gives items a second chance to be used. This makes it less likely that the item will be trashed.

Don’t skip shopping secondhand!

Photo by Stephen Andrews on Unsplash

Borrowing and lending

If you want to maintain a sustainable approach to baby gear, it’s a great idea to borrow! Because babies grow so fast, they use bouncers, chairs, jumpers, walkers, play mats and large toys for a short period of time before they outgrow it.

Why buy these items if you can borrow them?

I’ve borrowed just about all the items above from a cousin of mine. I ensure the item is well cared for and cleaned prior to returning.

Don’t forget to return the favor!

I hope this article encouraged you to practice minimalism whenever possible, to find reusable alternatives, and to limit waste by shopping secondhand or borrowing. It is not easy to seek sustainability, but we can all grow and learn more about what changes we can make in our lives as parents. I would love it if you would join me on this journey toward a greater focus on sustainability in parenthood.

By doing so, we can ensure our children and the future generations enjoy this earth just as much as we do, while maintaining the love and respect that it deserves.

--

--

Nat Galushkin
Readers Hope

Wife. Mama. Friend. Honest thoughts, stories and poetry related to motherhood and life in my 30's