Writing

Journaling on Days When You Don’t Know How to Start

40 facts and thoughts I have learned about myself on my 40th birthday

Andrea Otto-Davidson
Readers Hope

--

Photo by Ashlyn Ciara on Unsplash

I try to do journaling every day. It can be anything. Short. Long. A quote. A picture. A thought. A letter. A chapter.

And on the day of my birthday, I really wanted to write down my thoughts.

And I really struggled.

I wasn’t able to build proper sentences and didn’t see how I could start or finish my journal message on that day.

It was not any birthday but my 40th. And it was almost as if the pressure was too high to come up with something meaningful.

And then I read two wonderful articles. One from Berthran Benaiah about how to generate ideas to write daily.

And the other from Alina Avdyukova with the title “Journaling 101: How To Start, Benefits, Techniques, and Prompts”

Thanks to those two articles, I took the approach of writing down 40 things about myself and random thoughts. Here it is:

This is 40 🎈

1. I am grateful for being able to write this post

2. I am 40 — how did that happen?!

3. I am grateful for the fact that my children make me feel younger

4. 40 is the new 30 (strong believer)

5. Growing up in East Germany is something that I am finally proud of

6. When I was in my mid 20s, I was dreaming of this life

7. I am lucky that I am living my happy life with the man of my dreams

8. England is the most wonderful place to be when it’s sunny

9. The last 2 years have been the most intense years of my life

10. I miss being with friends

11. I miss my sister but I am grateful to be able to say hi over the phone whenever I can

12. I also miss concerts and live music and I am so glad they are coming back in 2022

13. I love my husband more than ever

14. I love spending time outdoors

15. I am happiest on top of a mountain and near water, but I don’t have to go into the water

16. My favourite flowers are tulips

17. I love waking up to bird songs and cuddles

18. I am proud of myself

19. French music makes me happy

20. This year I want to focus on being more in the present

21. This year I will do more 10km runs

22. This year I want to be able to play one ukulele song

23. I wish I were good at playing ukulele, but I am actually rubbish at it

24. I am looking forward to starting this next decade

25. This decade will be the one where I start a new hobby

26. I have new project ideas for this year that I love to test and try

27. Friends are more important than ever

28. I want to be a friend, mother, sister, daughter and wife that helps to create happy memories

29. Never be scared to say what you think

30. I hate the sound of scratching balloons but tolerate it when my kids are around

31. I love paragliding

32. I am struggling to express how I feel and want to work on that

33. I get energy from helping others

34. I want to leave an impact

35. Who would have thought that writing down 40 thoughts could be difficult

36. I don’t like material presents

37. I want my children to be happy and kind human beings

38. I do believe that sharing things with someone is the golden rule for all areas of life

39. Every day is a new beginning for anything you want

40. I am happy to be 40

Me in my happy place: outdoors

So this was my journal note on my 40th birthday, which surprisingly felt like a relief and ended up being a wonderful list of things I am grateful for and value.

It inspired me to pick a few of these thoughts each month to review and plan and make sure I don’t forget.

--

--

Andrea Otto-Davidson
Readers Hope

Member | Mentor | Moderator | Mother and More. Here for collaboration, curiosity and creation. Let’s connect.