Light at the End of the Tunnel

Lilly Rose
Readers Hope
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2023

As someone born in the 70s,i got my hand first time on a computer when i was 18 years old at college. I was trying to start a computer by pressing the button on the old model CPU. Damn , I didn't know what i was doing wrong because the shit wasn't starting at all .Some computer science kids doing their project was staring at me. Then it clicked, i had switched off their CPU.I wasn't using mine. By gods grace they didn't beat me to death. They were civil enough to understand that i was totally ignorant of the new technological wave that was happening around me

Image by Bert B from Unsplash

I got my first cell phone when i was twenty years old. It was one of those old Nokia phones, not the latest smart phones that we see now a days. All I did was to call home. It was also the time of Orkut , something maybe the youngsters now a days haven't even heard of. It was something similar to our faithful Facebook.

Image by Rayson Tan from Unsplash

Fast forward I had a serious problem when I caught myself checking the Facebook every two minutes, when i was pretty sure, there was nothing new in it. I was addicted to technology. what right did i have to scold my child on excessive usage if gadgets when i was doing the same ? That was the day i knew i had to do something to change my life. I knew there was something wrong with me. I wasn't spending my time productively. I deleted Facebook. That was my first step against social media.

Image by Florian from Unsplash

There are two sides of everything including technology. I am embracing the positive side to make myself a better person. I read about Neuro plasticity, how our brain can change . I have started studying Keyboard. There is a sea of knowledge out there. All we have to do is to pick the right pebbles .We should never forget our childhood. How we went out and played freely with our neighborhood friends ,coming home only when our parents called us back. The time when we spent our lives free like a bird.

Image by Robert Collins from Unsplash

Now a days even babies in prams have some sort of contraption hanging over them .Parents open your eyes before its too late.

--

--

Lilly Rose
Readers Hope

My topics of Interest are Life Experiences and Yoga .My Passion is Reading ,Writing and trying to be a better person. I am a follower of Jesus Not Christianity