Ministered in Motherhood-Navigating Pain & Discomfort

Ashley Baez
Readers Hope
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2024

My newborn son had a booger in his nose that was preventing him from breathing well so I wanted to remove it. After using nasal spray, I grabbed that blue pump to remove the booger (I had yet to figure out how to use the more efficient suction one!) Anyways… my son starts crying and screaming. I was trying to console him by saying things like, “just hold on, I’m almost done” and “I know you don’t like it but it’ll make you feel better” and in that moment, I was reminded by the Holy Spirit of what God must be feeling and telling me when I’m in a season of pain and discomfort. The Holy Spirit said, “when you’re in seasons of pain and discomfort, I’m telling you, ‘I know you don’t like this right now, but you’ll feel better soon.’” And I was like “WOW, okay, God!”

We don’t know why we’re feeling pain or discomfort but God is our Father, our Parent, and He sees things we can’t see in the moment. He knows things that we don’t know, therefore, we have to trust that in those seasons of pain and discomfort, that relief and/or goodness is coming soon!

Photo by Gadiel Lazcano on Unsplash

Here are two scriptures that the Holy Spirit brings to mind when I’m in seasons of pain/discomfort:

  • “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2–4 (NLT)
  • “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:9 (NLT)

I pray that this blesses you! Thanks for reading.

--

--

Ashley Baez
Readers Hope

I am a daughter, writer, and HS English teacher sharing my writing with the hopes that you are encouraged and inspired. For more content: @walkswithash