Present Timing

AC0040
Readers Hope
Published in
3 min readApr 5, 2024
Photo by Charlie Foster on Unsplash

I was late for a work meeting at the clinic.
My boss questioned my punctuality and tossed me another chance with a period should I arrive late.
I tied my red necktie and threw on my sports coat. I fixed my long, dark hair into place.
I grabbed my briefcase and moved through the long sidewalk when I saw a woman on a bench beneath a maple tree.
Something halted me in place.
“You okay?”
“What do you care?” She lifted her sunglasses to brush away tears with her fingers.
“Look, maybe I don’t care,” I said. “But I’m a counselor.”
A smile washed across her face before a frown crashed the party. “Just what I need shrink.”
“A little rude, no?” I stood, holding my briefcase, and moved my nails around the back of my neck with my other hand.
“It can’t be worse than being on the verge of losing your job.”
She laughed and covered her mouth.
“A job?” she said. “That’s all?”
“I’d rather not be homeless, lady.”
“Grrr…” She held up her arched fingers, motioning claws.
“Well, what’s your excuse?”
“Excuse me?” She removed her sunglasses.
“For being so miserable,” I said. “What’s your excuse.”
She folded her lips under her teeth and nodded. “My husband left me because I lost our third baby.”
My eyes softened. I moved closer. “Mind?” I pointed at the bench.
She realized there was no one by her side. “Be my guest.”
“I’m sorry if I was a little…”
“Snappy?”
I lifted my finger. “Snappy works.”
I nudged her shoulder. “I can’t say that I-”
“Then don’t,” she said. “Don’t say you understand. Just sit here with me and soak up the present.”
“You sound like a therapist,” I said.
She lifted her arm and pointed. “The swathes of gold and red leaves camouflaged the browning grass.”
“The green lake wrinkles over itself, and the geese squeak.”
“There!” she said. “Did you see that?”
“See what?”
“A chipmunk.”
I inched closer as if to pray for her protection should an army of chipmunks want more than nuts.
She slapped her thigh and laughed
like she hadn’t laughed in some time.
“Anyway, what’s your name?” I said.
She was still laughing. “It’s… it’s Marcia.”
“I’m Nathan,” I said.
Marcia snorted, still giggling, and waved her hands over her face.
“Nice to meet you, Nathan.”
“Well,” I said. “I probably lost my job, but at least I made a person laugh.” I went to stand, but Marcia embraced my forearm and guided me back to my seat.
“What do you see?” Marcia said.
I looked around. “I don’t follow.”
“In me, silly,” she said. “What do you see?”
“I-”
“Be present.”
“In that case, I see a woman who hasn’t smiled in a while. She has long, blonde hair and hazel eyes that scream empathy. I notice she has freckles that protect her innocence, and her lips are made for kisses. I see everything I’ve ever wanted. That’s what I see.” I winked at her. “Now, excuse me as I get fired.”
“Wait,” Marcia said, tears spreading across her cheeks. “You won’t get fired.”
“Now that, I don’t see.”
“I’m your new boss.”
I stopped and turned around. “What happened to Lori?”
“She’s the one they fired, not you.”
I released the tension in my chest.
“Now sit down and be present with me.”
“Sure thing, boss.”
Ten years later, our lives are as present as ever.

(© 2024 AC)

--

--

AC0040
Readers Hope

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. Nonprofit. Education. I write short stories and poems.