Queerly Beloved: Book Review

Jamie Watts
Readers Hope
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2024

Author Susie Dumond. Publisher: The Dial Press, a division of Penguin Random House. 2022. Paperback copy. Some spoilers.

Photo by Michele Wales on Unsplash

Queerly Beloved is a novel by Susie Dumond, published in 2022. Set in Tulsa, Oklahoma, during the early 2010s, the story centers around Amy, a queer baker who is fired from her conservative workplace after being outed. To make ends meet, Amy starts a side business as a bridesmaid-for-hire, which leads her into the complicated world of weddings and personal relationships.

The book explores themes of identity, community, and the challenges faced by LGBTQ+ individuals in conservative settings. It balances humor with heartfelt moments, providing a relatable and engaging narrative. Queerly Beloved is celebrated for its diverse representation, witty writing, and touching portrayal of queer life and love.

I bought this book in February during my local bookstore’s Valentine’s themed sale; Blind Date with a Book. When I purchased this book, the sales associate told me that this book (which was covered and only had a brief description on the outer paper), was written by a local Arkansan (person living in, or from, Arkansas). I was very excited about that.

I enjoyed this cute love story and how it developed. For me, it felt like it had a sweet innocence to it. It had conflict and resolution. I would have enjoyed more from the last chapter to the epilogue, however, I understand why there wasn’t more. It feels resolved as is.

I recommend this book for anyone wanting a light, easy read, or a feel-good moment. Susie Dumond has also written other books that I have put on my to-be-read list.

I would love to hear your thoughts on it. If you have read Queerly Beloved, please feel free to leave a comment and start a discussion about it.

If you have an extra minute, I encourage you to go check out My Page and read some of my other work. I have other book reviews, short stories, poetry, writing prompts, and raw content relating to mental illness, mental health, and the healing journey. You can also subscribe to get emails when I publish.

--

--