Photo by Heramb kamble on Unsplash

Scylighter Schema

How I Rate Books & Why (A 3-Part Summary of the Scylighter Schema)

3 levels of analysis, LMA/LDB system, + 6-star rating key

Readers Hope
Published in
5 min readMar 27, 2024


You judge the books you read.

Even if you think you don’t, you do. It’s how you decide what to read and what not to read. What to stick with and what to give up on. What to re-read and what to toss in the trash.

Most of these judgments are semi-subconscious. You like a book, you think it’s great, you don’t know why, moving on to the next book, yay!

But if you want to be a brilliant writer, it helps to have a more conscious and explicit way of understanding what you like and dislike about books, and why.

That’s why I’ve written out my own system for assessing books (which I call the Scylighter Schema).

Hope this helps you figure out your own, or if you already have one, let me know: What’s yours? :)

The Purpose of Every Book: LMA or LDB

Both fiction and nonfiction can be loosely categorized by a three-letter code. They are…

Fiction: LMA

All stories primarily feature one of the following themes, but often include 2 or even all…



Sarah Cy
Readers Hope

(aka The Scylighter). Writer, musician, reader, daughter. Join our Merry Band, become a Brilliant Writer, and dazzle your readers!