So what do you know about Émile Zola?

Living my student life

Annalisa Vibio
Readers Hope

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

For five long years of high school I studied three foreign languages, namely English, French and German. Of these, not only have I been able to learn the grammar rules, but I have also studied their literature, from the Middle Age to the modern times. Indeed, there is no better way to learn a foreign language than to get closer to the people who speak it and, at the same time, to their culture or knowledge.

However, in five years few authors have really impressed and interested me like Emile Zola, a 19th-century Parisian writer, father of French Naturalism. His way of analyzing reality, society, popular dynamics in a careful and scientific way have made his works famous and imprinted them in my memory.

So, today I would like to present you the thought of this memorable author, as well as his literary direction.

Photo by Dim Hou on Unsplash

Zola, the man, the writer and his courage

Emile Zola was born in Paris on April 2, 1840. After the death of his father, however, he spent his childhood in Aix-En-Provence, where he met the post-impressionist painter Cézanne.

--

--

Annalisa Vibio
Readers Hope

Hi 🙋‍♀️ I am a Sciences Po university student in International Economic Policy. 📚 I am interested in geopolitics, journalism ✒ and creative writing.