Terminal D, Gate 4

Ali
Readers Hope
Published in
5 min readOct 11, 2023

Raised in a setting where everyone taught loyalty, humility, and kindness, I came across people who’d do everything opposite to their words. The world is ugly, and keeping up the guard is the first and foremost step, one needs in this growing, awkward society. Be mindful of how to protect yourself, and be cautious about who you give your heart, time, and love to!

I have met the most interesting people in the US during my travels. As someone who’d been an academic in the country for some time, I got to travel a lot. I am not wrong to say that I have seen more America now than my home country. The Union Stations, Subways, and airports — New York to Los Angeles, I have seen so much of America now that if someone would ask the places and towns, I may have more to tell than natives. Other than writing and reading, my third most favorite thing is traveling.

Unfortunately, I did not get time to travel with people, and mostly, I am on my own. But talking to strangers is itself so much fun. I have compiled some of the most interesting conversations…more like excerpts from my conversations. These are some life lessons or perspectives that I found thought-provoking.

Few rules for talking to strangers — they should stay strangers. No sharing numbers or Snapchat! Never tell or ask what they do for a living! Kindness goes a long way! I will compile as many stories from my traveling conversations! — Hope to write more about it. Few are here:

Photo by Philip Strong on Unsplash

Rick, Middle Aged
Union Station, New York
Traveling to Minneapolis

R: “I feel like my time to go to the gym has sailed. I always wanted to be leaner but never could control my eating. Look, I still have Soda! I struggled to have relationships mainly because of my obesity. I can hardly walk…I wish the day when my chaps played, I had played with them. I was the bench guy! I do not have regrets…but I do have some, maybe! If I had to be reborn, I would be careful of what I consume”

Me: “Why don’t you consider going to your doctor? Maybe he can plan something for you, a dietician, or maybe a bariatric surgery?”

R: “I do not have good insurance! It may not cover that. I have been to the doctor many times, and they say I have to first control my diabetes! I try not to eat junk! I feel my boat has sailed…”

Chloe, 20s
LaGuardia Airport, New York
Traveling to London (Canada)

C: “Sometimes I never believe it can happen! I met him on a dating app. I was with my friends in Buffalo last summer when I was swiping on my phone screen. I saw this handsome guy working for a firm based in Canada…Well, he is American but lives across the border!… I am excited to be with him for the next month!… I have to return for school though”

Me: “Do you love him?”

C: (blushing!) “Well, I am not sure if he loves me or not. He excites me for sure. He plans to settle on the West Coast, and I have been a New Yorker all my life! I am not sure if it can work…Umm! I am not thinking much”

Syra, 30s
O’Hare International, Chicago
Traveling to Peshawar

Me: “Must be tough traveling with kids!”

S: “Their father is always busy, and I must care for them. Not to complain, but raising three kids together is tough!”

Me: “Where is their father?”

S: “He is an investor in the hotel business. He has a lot of work! Always working. He is in Washington State right now, and I am going to his sister’s wedding! You know our Pakistani culture!? Don’t get me wrong, I love him; he works so hard and makes sure we have everything. Sometimes it makes me upset…like I am okay, not to have enough, but he wants to make sure his boys have everything! He says to make money now so later, as his boys grow up, he can be with him…raising boys is not easy”

Divya, 20s
John F. Kennedy Airport, New York
Traveling to New Delhi

Me: “May I know what makes you say this?”

D: “I thought things would work! I came here as a student, fell in love with the wrong person, and before I became alcoholic and dependent (laughs!), I should go to my family before I return. I plan to live in Dallas!”

Me: “You are holding up, my friend! Say it; you’ll have a better long flight”

D: “Raised in a setting where everyone taught loyalty, humility, and kindness, I came across people who’d do everything opposite to their words. The world is ugly, and keeping up the guard is the first and foremost step, one needs in this growing, awkward society. Be mindful of how to protect yourself, and be cautious about who you give your heart, time, and love to!”

Josh, 40s
Subway Station, Alexandria, VA
Traveling to North Carolina

Me: “Good to see someone reading Colleen Hoover before the weather gets sadder! (Smiled)”

J: “Is it girlish? (laughed!)”

Me: “Not at all! I love it. Colleen is one of my favorite novelists; it's just too sad! but real, emotionally quite smart…”

J: “Actually, this was given by my girlfriend. She asked me to read this before I met her again. It's pretty addictive…the characters are strong, I love it! Lily is crazy…Hope to finish it by the time I reach home. What did you like about her?”

Me: “Everything! I love her.”

J: “Who? What? Who do you love?…”

Me: “(Laughed!) I meant, I love Colleen Hoover”

J: “(Winks!) Gotcha!”

Photo by Mollie Sivaram on Unsplash

I am Ali, a physician, an epidemiologist, and a writer. I study the outcomes and care of patients with vascular diseases. I like writing about life, productivity, science, and other things. I was raised in Lahore and now reside in Pennsylvania.

--

--