The Worst Part About Being Unemployed Isn’t Financial…

Ray Smith Jr
Readers Hope
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2024
Photo by Ernie Journeys on Unsplash

Being unemployed is killing me.

Not financially, but mentally.

I miss having a place to go in the morning. Getting up and doing my prayer and meditation, taking a shower, putting on my office clothes, and then hopping on the tube or bus.

I miss the camaraderie you share with co-workers. The jokes and laughs and banter. And the sense of accomplishment you feel when you do your job well.

Having a job gives you more than money. It gives you a sense of worth and identity. Those fortunate enough to have stable employment for prolonged periods probably wouldn’t remember or understand.

And your pride always gets knocked down a peg when someone asks what you do for a living. It takes me a few seconds to formulate my explanation.

‘I’m working for a temp agency right now. And there are no new assignments,’ I tell them.

Modern Job Hunting is Dehumanising

I’m not unemployed by design. I’ve applied to dozens of jobs since my temp assignment ended in February.

Indeed. CV Library. Reed. Hotjobs. Monster. Zip Recruiter. I know them all.

The problem I see with many of these sites is there’s just too much competition. For some Indeed jobs, I’m competing against 500 or more other candidates for only one or two open positions. The numbers are against me.

And for some Indeed roles, the software or algorithm automatically rejects you after you apply. You’re “not selected by employer” long before a human even takes a look at your CV.

I know what you’re saying. Why were you temping? The answer to that is I couldn’t find a non-temporary job that wanted me.

I’ve attended job fairs. Met with job coaches. Talked to National Career Services. Called recruiters. At least these failed attempts had a human element. For most jobs, you will be rejected long before you communicate with a real-life person.

Gone are the old days. When I was young, I remember dressing up and wearing a tie and filling out paper applications on a clipboard in company reception areas. You met people and talked. Even if you didn’t get the job, at least you made a human connection instead of getting a generic rejection email at three in the morning.

One Step Backward, Two Steps Forward

Fortunately, I’m getting Universal Credit to keep me afloat. I still have a bit of savings. I won’t be sleeping in the park anytime soon.

But it’s gotten to the point where I’m willing to take any job. Fast food, security guard, the practitioner of the custodial arts. I’ve even applied to be a concierge in an apartment building.

Working a low-wage job won’t make me rich.

What it will give me is structure, a place to go, human interaction, and a boost to my self-esteem. These are things you can’t put a price on.

--

--

Ray Smith Jr
Readers Hope

Hey, I'm Ray. Joined Medium in April 2024. I write about True Crime, Buddhism, Life, and other subjects.