What Moses Sang When He Appeared to James Hampton to Offer Him a Construction Commission from God

Noel Holston
Readers Hope
Published in
2 min readJul 20, 2023

--

A song from Throne, a musical inspired by the life and work of James Hampton, whose “Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nations’ Millennium General Assembly” has been dazzling and humbling visitors to the Smithsonian’s American Art Museum (SAAM) in Washington for half a century.

Burning Bush, Arabia Mountain, Georgia. Photo by Noel Holston

Burning Bush (Moses’ Song)

Words and Music by Noel Holston

James, this is Moses

You know, “Let my people go.”

I’m the one who led the Exodus

Gave the slip to old Pharaoh.

James, I have come to you

To advise you of God’s plan

There’s work to do

A project

And you, James, are the man.

James, I know you’re doubtful

I mean, “Where’s that bush ablaze?”

But God appears in many forms

And works in mysterious ways.

James, listen closely

He put me in your dream

I am but heaven’s messenger

And the Lord commands a scheme.

James, His son will come again

To be the Light, the Way

And you must make a place for Him

Make it ready for that day.

James, I know you’re doubtful

I mean, “Where’s that bush ablaze?”

But God appears in many forms

And works in mysterious ways.

James, I know your people

And you, of course, know mine

We share the bond of bondage

A link that transcends time.

James, you’re not a scholar

Much less a man of art

But James, you’ll find your talent

God knows you have the heart.

James, I know you’re doubtful

I mean, “Where’s that bush ablaze?”

But God appears in many forms

And works in mysterious ways.

James, this is . . . Moses

--

--