What we got WRONG about Hard Work

Zhi Yong
Readers Hope
Published in
4 min readJul 26, 2024

It is hardly ever about working hard

Photo by Do Nhu on Unsplash

I think “hard work” is one of the oft-cited elements of success. Don’t get me wrong, I think it is. You need to put in the time and effort for something to be a success. But I think people are missing the point. Here are 5 things I think people got wrong about hard work.

(1): What are you working harder for?

Photo by Michał Parzuchowski on Unsplash

I have the impression that people may be spending excessive amounts of time and effort on things lower on their priority list and that they neglect the things that truly matter.

I am guilty of that as well. I get so consumed with the desire to excel in my studies that I devote most of my time cooped up in my room. I did not make much time for my friends, my family- relationships that matter I would say a lot more than an A on any test.

If you are working tirelessly at a job, ask yourself: what are you working harder for? Is it to ensure you bring back money to put food on the table? If so, relationships are actually higher on the priority list than work. So make time for your loved ones.

Do not just blindly put effort into things. Ask why. If it is not important, why work hard? The time and effort are best placed somewhere else that actually matters.

(2) Working harder is often not the solution

Oftentimes, we would tell people who are struggling at something to “work harder”. As a young swimmer who was shouted at by my coach to “work harder”, I often rolled my eyes.

To me, it was useless advice. I was already training my ass off(i.e. working hard). What I needed was ways to work better, in ways that improved my success in the pool. What angle should I kick my legs at, which muscle groups should I strengthen to improve my swim times, and how do I improve my reaction timings? These are the things that would lead me to success.

In most cases, it is not about working more, but about improving the way we work. Bystanders often can only say “work harder”, because they do not know the points of improvement that can be made.

(3) You do not work hard merely by choosing to do so

People seem to think that working hard is a voluntary action- one can choose to work hard, or not(if not, they are lazy).

But I believe the picture is more complicated than that. Beyond just choosing to work hard, more is needed for you to actually work hard.

You might need:

  1. a reason to work hard that adequately motivates you- bringing me back to point (1).
  2. A system to take you from where you are to where you need to be. Identifying what needs to be done and breaking them down into small actionable steps will give you the motivation to work.
  3. Enjoying the process- naturally, you would feel like you are not working.

(4) Beyond hard work, there is always luck

Photo by Allec Gomes on Unsplash

Our understanding of hard work, coupled with ideals of meritocracy has made it seem as though an individual’s effort is the only key to success. That is never the case. Luck plays an enormous role as well.

People who get to go to college for example are usually from more well-off backgrounds because their parents can afford the college tuition. Or they need not have to go to work to feed the family such that they can just focus on their studies and get the requisite grades. The ability to go to college, and in turn secure a higher-paying job- is greatly influenced by the family one is born into (i.e. that is luck).

The implication of this is that when we fail, it may be inappropriate to think that we should have worked harder. It may well be a matter of luck, something out of your control, and that is not your fault.

(5) While working hard to attain a goal is great, don’t forget to be present.

Working hard towards a goal is admirable.

But at the same time, remember to be present in the moment. Look around you, smell the flowers. Be open to what is around you. Life is always full of surprises.

It would be quite a shame if you missed them because you were too focused on working hard.

--

--

Zhi Yong
Readers Hope

Giving tips on writing, love and everything in between