Why This Is The Best Time To Learn A New Skill In History

Jonte
Readers Hope
Published in
2 min readSep 23, 2023
Photo by Cookie the Pom on Unsplash

Instead of two years, I would take two months to be news writer

As part of my side hustles, I write business news for a media house.

I’m the recent past, you could do the research or interviews then sit down to manually type a story.

This could take about two hours writing one story. It would also take upto two years to learn to be a journalist.

Nowadays thanks to AI, all I need to do is get the news which is probably one or two paragraphs. Get some background information or context and supporting data.

I feed this information to an AI platform and ask it to produce a story.

Basics

Off course I need basics of how a story should be structured so that I can edit what I get from an AI software.

If I was starting to learn to be a news writer today, it would take about two months and not two years.

Coding

The same goes to coding or graphic design, architecture and other jobs.

Essentially you need the basic knowledge of a how finished product should look like and the structure of the finished product.

When AI gives you the finished code, you need to be able to understand the lines of code and be able to edit them.

Given the AI platform or software, just feed the raw data and prescriptions of what should be the end product and it will be served.

Layout

What I mean here is that in most jobs at the moment, the training you need is what are the inputs, the structure and what should be the finished product.

This makes it easier to learn a new skill.

Accounting

For instance a basic knowledge of accounting will allow you to use accounting software as long as you understand what are the inputs and what are the expected outputs.

The software will still interpret the out put for you in many cases.

--

--

Jonte
Readers Hope

Day Trader. Spent over 5-years researching & writing on forex, crypto, stocks for Africa's largest business newspaper businessdailyafrica.com.