WHY YOU SHOULD COOK!

Fozle rabbi chowdhury
Readers Hope
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2023

--

In my student life when I had to move away from my family and start living alone, the only thing I feared most was cooking by myself, which I had never done before.

First, I planned to eat at a restaurant but that proved to be too costly for me. So, finally, I had to get myself into the kitchen and start cooking. At first, I did horrible like either the food is too salty or too spicy or not even fully cooked or sometimes overcooked.😊

Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

But eventually, after 1–2 weeks I became comfortable and started enjoying cooking. Here are a couple of things I learned from cooking:

  • Cooking can reduce stress and anxiety: Preparing food can be a relaxing and meditative activity that helps you unwind and forget about your worries.
  • Cooking can boost creativity: Cooking allows you to experiment with different ingredients and flavours, which can be a fun and creative outlet.
  • Cooking can improve confidence: Successfully making a delicious meal can give you a sense of accomplishment and boost your self-esteem.
  • Cooking can increase mindfulness: Paying attention to the ingredients, the recipe, and the cooking process can help you be more present and mindful.
  • Cooking can promote healthy eating: When you cook your own meals, you have more control over the ingredients and can make healthier choices that can benefit your overall health.
Photo by Katie Smith on Unsplash

In my opinion, cooking doesn’t have any rules. It’s all about exploring, inventing, and experimenting with ingredients. Here are some ways to invent and experiment with cooking:

  • Start with a basic recipe: If you’re new to cooking or experimenting with a new ingredient, start with a basic recipe as a foundation. Then, you can adjust and add your own twists to make it your own.
  • Try new ingredients: Don’t be afraid to try new ingredients that you’ve never used before. Research their flavour profiles and experiment with different cooking techniques to find out what works best.
  • Play with seasoning and spices: Seasoning and spices can completely transform a dish. Experiment with different combinations and amounts to find the perfect balance of flavours.
  • Use your intuition: Cooking is a creative process, so trust your instincts and intuition. If a recipe calls for a certain ingredient or technique, but you think something else would work better, go ahead and try it.

Remember, cooking is all about having fun and expressing your creativity. So, don’t be afraid to make mistakes or try something new. You never know, you might just discover a new favourite dish!😊

--

--

Fozle rabbi chowdhury
Readers Hope

I love IT! that's why most of the time I write about it.