Starting From Scratch: Pulling Off a Career Switch

From Hospitality to Fashion

Connectedreams.com
Connectedreams Blog

--

An Interview With Arti PatelFashion Design Student at Parsons School of Design at The New School

Changing career paths is considered a monumentally daunting task. It is tedious to leave the comforts of an already trodden upon path to divert valuable time and resources and gain a new set of skills and experiences. Some of us also hate the feeling of being a novice at something that is scary and new. Lastly, the notion that it is ideal to do follow only one career path our whole life is deeply embedded in our psyche.

Like a lot of decisions, and the career you choose being one of them, it is not uncommon to reach a stage where it does not excite you anymore. Even though it is considered hard to successfully break into multiple careers in one meager lifetime, changing professions is more common than you would think.

In our conversation with Arti Shah, a newly graduated fashion design student from Parsons School of Design and a former professional who worked for a decade in the hospitality sector, we pick her brain on how to successfully break into a new career, talk about getting into the prestigious program at Parsons with no prior background in fashion, the transition after working for years in hospitality and her exciting new goals!

  1. Tell us a little about yourself and the course you are pursuing at Parsons?

I grew up in Central, PA, went to undergrad at Temple University in Philadelphia and have been living in NYC for about 5 years. I recently graduated from the 2-year fashion design program at the Parsons School of Design. The program is tailored for individuals that have already completed a 4-year bachelor degree and are pursuing a career in the world of fashion. Prior to attending Parsons, I worked 10 years in marketing, e-commerce and hotel operations with a large REIT/Hospitality Management company.

2. What are the other schools that offer the similar program? What are the best schools in Fashion and why did you choose Parsons over them?

There are several great schools out there aside from Parsons — FIT, FIDM and Pratt just to name a few within the US. Each program offers a variety of curriculum and places emphasis on areas which they believe will most benefit their future alumni. For example, FIT has a stronger focus on technical skills, while Parsons believes in overall conceptual design. Therefore, the curriculum reflects these two different viewpoints. Personally, I chose Parsons b/c of their stellar reputation, focus on conceptual design and relationships within the fashion community.

3. You were in the hospitality sector before you made the switch. Tell us a bit about your experience in hospitality sector.

After completing my undergraduate degree in Marketing from Temple University, I jumped in to the workforce. My first professional experience in hospitality was very hands-on. I learned the ins and outs of how a successful hotel operates. From the front desk to housekeeping, I did it all. This gave me some great real world experience and helped me develop my customer service and people skills. I then spent several years working in sales, revenue management and e-commerce at the corporate level.

4. What was your motivation behind joining the Fashion Designing field after an established career in hospitality and management? Did your skills in the field of corporate hospitality help your switch to fashion?

A part of me has always had a passion for art, fashion, architecture and design. Throughout my career in hospitality, I was constantly looking for ways to fulfill my creative appetite. After working in a non-creative role for a couple of years post undergrad, I wasn’t feeling satisfied. I decided to pursue a graphic design degree at the Moore College of Art and Design in Philadelphia in hopes that it would help me take on a new, more creative, role within the company I was working for. Luckily, it led me in to taking on more projects that involved graphic design and PR. Ultimately, I knew that I would never feel completely satisfied unless I dove in headfirst and committed to a real career change. I researched a variety of creative fields…interior design, event planning, graphic design, etc…but in the end, Fashion just felt right.

I have no doubt that my experience corporate hospitality helped me make the switch in to fashion. The experience I gained there is irreplaceable. It taught me a lot about making tough decisions, working as a team and adapting to new environments. These are all qualities and characteristics that I believe Parsons looks for in their prospective students.

5. How do you feel now after a year and a half at Parsons? Was that switch worth it? How has your experience been so far? Has it been different from what you expected?

The experience so far has been an exciting ride…and you never know what to expect around the corner. It has certainly pushed me harder than I’ve ever been pushed. It’s creatively challenging and highly demanding, but when you’re passionate about something, “work” never seems like work. I wasn’t quite sure how to set my expectations prior to starting the program. Since I had zero fashion background, I learned something new every day. I had no idea how to sew, sketch, drape or pattern-make, but the Parsons faculty is second to none. Even though a lot of students in my program had some experience in these areas, the professors dedicated time to help students at any skill level. Also, the old saying is true that nothing can replace hard work. The faculty will help you where they can, but they won’t hold your hand. Parsons is a very competitive school and it’s up to you to put in the work to shorten your learning curve.

It was absolutely worth the switch. I can honestly say that I have not looked back. It’s hard to believe that I’m finished with the program and can now create a garment from vision to final piece. It’s something that fulfills that creative passion I’ve always had.

6. How did you make your application stand out? Given that a lot of students apply to Parsons School of Design. How did you make your CV stand out from the others?

I think certain aspects my corporate hospitality experience maybe stood out to the admissions team at Parsons, but I had to supplement my CV with a portfolio that reflected my fashion and design identity. I knew that the competition would be fierce, so I needed to put my best creative foot forward. I used some of my cultural influences from the Indian evening garments that I had designed in the past for different events. I also focused on having the portfolio tell my personal design story. Through photography, architecture, clothing and style. My portfolio conveyed my style –classic, minimal and clean with a little bit of edge.

7. Do you have any advice for working professionals who want to come back to school to further prospects?

If you’re thinking about a career change and/or going back to school, I would suggest testing the waters before you jump in. Talk to people in the industry you’re looking at to get an insiders perspective on what to expect. If you’re still unsure, try taking a class or two before fully committing yourself to the program.

Before I applied to Parsons, I took a general Fashion course at an art and design school. Taking that course while working full time, gave me the confidence to apply to Parsons b/c I knew I had chosen the right field.

8. Do you have any advice for professionals who are thinking of switching careers, like you made the transition from hospitality to design?

For me it was something I was thinking about for quite some time. I didn’t just wake up one morning and decide to switch careers. Everyone has a different level of risk tolerance, so I believe it’s important to assess that and be honest with yourself. I would also advise people to do as much research and due diligence as possible on their potential career change. Talk to as many people as you can in the field you’re looking at. Also, once you’ve made up your mind, don’t take no for an answer. I knew that I wanted to go to Parsons and if I didn’t get in the first time, I would keep trying. If I did get in, I was fully prepared to follow through…quit my job, move back to NYC and just go for it. I think you should have unwavering confidence that you’re making the right decision and trust in yourself.

9. Any interview advice that an applicant should keep in mind while applying for Parsons?

There was no formal interview process for Parsons, but in general I would always try to be as personable, honest and trustworthy in any interview process. If you are genuine, it will make a huge difference, no matter what you’re interviewing for.

10. What advice do you have for the students who intend to apply to Parsons?

Be ready to work hard and be serious about what you’re doing. The curriculum is intense and expectations are high. You won’t have much time for social activities outside of the design studio, but the end result is absolutely worth it.

11. Can you tell us a little about your current internship? What motivated you to take this opportunity and how did you bag it?

I am working with an emerging luxury women’s wear designer, Charles Youssef. I was drawn to this opportunity b/c the brand/company is still in the growth stage. It’s very much a start-up, entrepreneurial environment, and that is exactly what I was looking for. He was awarded a space in the CFDA incubator along with a handful of other standout emerging designers. It has given me the opportunity to interact and learn from some of the biggest and most respected names in the fashion industry.

12. What’s next for you?

I’ll continue to work in the CFDA incubator space with Charles Youssef and learn as much as I can about building a successful fashion business. Ultimately, my end goal is to have my own women’s wear line. Just like I did with changing careers and attending Parsons, I’ll do my homework and wait until the time is right to go out on my own.

Interviewer— Aarushi Arora | Content & Marketing Fellow at Connectedreams.com

Connectedreams.com is an online data-driven, cultural context-aware networking platform, bridging the role model & mentorship gap.

*Request an Invitation and Follow us on Facebook and Medium to get weekly updates on useful professional resources to advance your career.

--

--