On Information Overload, Creativity and Books

Yuliya Savyuk
Reading Designer
Published in
4 min readJul 10, 2020
Students preparing for classes in the library
Amsterdam Public Library OBA

Information Overload

One of my recent insights was that overconsumption of information reduces my creativity and productivity. It’s nothing new, I guess, but somehow I started sharply feeling it recently. So, in recent months I took my information hygiene seriously:

  • I quit Facebook entirely (yei!)
  • I take 2–4 weeks breaks from Instagram every couple of months
  • I clean the list of accounts I follow on Instagram regularly. Nothing personal, it’s just those little acts of self-care
  • Messengers notifications are ON only for close friends.

I’m not trying to say everybody should do the same and that is going to be your way to endless creativity and happiness. It just helps me to be more selective with what I let in and what shapes my daily life experience.

Now you probably think: Yeah, we all know the problem of information overload in the modern world, so what?

So, since I cleaned up my headspace a little bit, I suddenly managed to reconnect with what I really enjoy doing and what I want to improve on. Since space for some creativity appeared, I got several ideas of a little personal experimental projects I want to work on in the nearest future. About one of those I want to tell you today. But wait a little bit.

On Writing

I haven’t been seriously writing for more than 2 years now. Well, I’ve never really been writing seriously, but I did post several longer texts per year on life and traveling. Mostly all my little everyday stories are visual and very personal. It’s partially for the same reason of information overload. The amount of noise gets so high that you just don’t want to be another shouting voice in that loud crowd. Though, definitely writing is something I want to improve on and enjoy doing for several reasons:

  • It helps me to structure my thoughts
  • It always kicks off the process of generating new ideas
  • It helps to dig deeper into the topic I’m curious about
  • It connects you with people who relate to what you are writing about
  • And finally, it makes you constantly observe and fixate moments

So, I thought why the hell not to do it if I actually love it?

Why not do it the way that it won’t be destructive and useless background noise of someone’s day.

What if it can be that selected content which is actually helpful and valuable?

So the contemplation of this thought has started in my head.

On Reading

My relationship with books was not always as good as they are now.

I had never read books too much when I was a kid. I regret it now. Maybe that’s why I try to compensate for it as an adult as much as I can. Reading just was not a part of my family routine. In school, it was rather a mandatory obligation with a predefined list of classic novels. All the deep senses of “War and Peace” or “Old Man and the Sea” were hard to grasp for the teenage mind which just wanted to have fun and knew so little about life. So I did read, just for the sake of fulfilling the duty and getting rid of mom’s questions if the homework is done.

Now, books are my best way to learn and the most helpful cure from any worries that might keep me up at night.

Spending hours in the books department store, just being there surrounded by those beautifully crafted letters give this comforting feeling of being grounded and sweet illusion that you are in the place where you can get the answer to any of your most difficult questions.

My best entertainment in a new city is visiting the National Libraries.

I rationalize many of my fears by reading books about the nature of those fears.

I do buy books I never read.

And yes, in 2020 I still conservatively believe reading books is one of the best ways to learn.

On Both: Reading and Writing

Being a career changer I had to read a lot of Design related literature. It was my way of discovering what it is all about. Putting that puzzles together.

I always bother people with book recommendations. If we have a long enough conversation, you probably will hear from me:

“You have to read this book!”

So since now on, it’s going to be even worth, I’ll also send you the link to my personal humble opinion about this book.

Those are going to be books about UX and UI Design, Product Design, Professional Development, and Psychology.

Eventually, I might also contemplate about books and reading overall.

So I want to start sharing my Design related books recommendations with those who are interested in my opinion about them. I will recommend you one book per two weeks adding a couple of paragraphs sharing my personal experience with this book plus some quotes that spoke to me.

I could just reveal the list of books I’ve read but you can find a lot of such lists online. It will be solely based on my subjective impression of the book and the value it brought me personally.

But what about information overload?

You might be wondering at this point what about information overload? Isn’t it another thing over there in that ocean of information we have to deal with every day?

The answer is yes, it definitely is, but…

I’m going to take it slow. I want it to be a well-curated list of books for those interested in my opinion and insight. And later… who knows :).

--

--

Yuliya Savyuk
Reading Designer

UX/UI Designer • Product Designer • Lifelong Education Enthusiast