3 Hyped Books That Didn’t Do it For Me!

Dana Lynn
Reading is a Novel Idea
2 min readOct 24, 2023

--

I tried. I really tried.

Photo by Kari Shea on Unsplash

1- Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

This was a no for me. I actually didn’t even finish it. The synopsis on the back was not what the book was about at all. So while I was reading the book, I kept wondering when we were getting to the cooking show. When?

The answer? I don’t know because I stopped reading at like 40%. Nor will I check out the show. No point of watching a show about a book that was meh to me.

2- Happy Place by Emily Henry

Oh lord. This was just bad. I wanted this book. I used a gift card to preorder this book, which says a lot. Then its bright pink cover came and I was all ready to be happy as I read it. Then I opened the book….

I however was the opposite of happy. None of these friends were good people. Their whole friendship was built on all the romantic relationships between the friends, which was weird to me. The relationship between our two main protagonists felt surface level at best. I will swear that based on their relationship, they did not even know each other at all. Stop being dramatic and just talk to each other. Have a conversation. Any conversation. Miscommunication is 100% my least favorite trope.

--

--

Dana Lynn
Reading is a Novel Idea

Dana is an educator who began her writing journey in 2023. Travel & books are her main topics, but once in awhile may sprinkle in other thoughts.