Reading

My Book Club Books Are Killing My Reading Mojo

If you tell me I have to read a book I want to do anything but read it

Alan Simpson
Reading is a Novel Idea
2 min readJul 27, 2022

--

photo by author

I wrote a while back about my struggle to read A Gentleman in Moscow.

I had the same struggle with the beginning of The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I ended up loving the book, but I struggled to read it long enough to realize how good it was.

The next book was Nomadland by Jessica Bruder. I never got to the point that I loved this one. I had to make myself read it on the day of book club so I could discuss it.

Now, we are reading In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. I said when I started it that I was finally starting a book club book early enough not to struggle to finish it in time. Now. one day before book club I find myself not even halfway finished. I want to do anything but read the book.

I now know I can't attend book club. I wonder if this will make me want to read the book more or if I will just give up.

--

--

Alan Simpson
Reading is a Novel Idea

I am a semi-retired former librarian who writes about a variety of topics. I review TV shows. I review books. I write about what is happening around us.