Book Prompt

The Best Sad Book I’ve Ever Read

Sometimes you don't get the happy ending you want

Alan Simpson
Reading is a Novel Idea
3 min readJan 31, 2022

--

Monday for me means working on an article in response to Marrisa W.’s Book Prompt. The link is below if you want to play along. The title of the prompt makes me think of the above that I have seen all over Tik Tok. This book definitely qualifies as emotional damage.

The BookAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

The Premise – Finch, and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower of their school. Finch is fascinated by death and constantly thinks of ways to kill himself. Violet is dealing with the crushing grief of the death of her sister. They pair up for a school project to discover the natural wonders of the state of Indiana, where they live. The resulting story is a part love…

--

--

Alan Simpson
Reading is a Novel Idea

I am a semi-retired former librarian who writes about a variety of topics. I review TV shows. I review books. I write about what is happening around us.