Libido on Pause: Thyroid Edition!

How a sudden lack of sex drive made me fall in love again with my body

Aurelie B.
Real Insight!

--

A woman lying down on the beach, in a revealing dress, putting her hand in front of the camera to hide her face
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

People who skim my story titles might think I’m this wild, sex-crazed writer. Spoiler: I’m not. I’m not prudish, nor am I a maniac. I enjoy intimacy, but I don’t take it lightly. The looming threat of STIs bothers me, and unfortunately, not everyone’s diligent about getting tested regularly.

I talk a big game about sex, more than I actually play it. To give you a ballpark idea, my usual desire is about a 6.6 out of 10, but most of the time, I’m just handling it solo. Call it a can-do attitude mixed with distrust in the men department.

No less than four months ago, I was practically begging a friend for a casual banging arrangement (which he turned down) to save myself from actually banging my head against the walls. Yet, since the new year rolled in, my body’s just given up on the whole sex thing.

So, why does nothing arouse me anymore nowadays?

I refuse to let my brain be hijacked by the fear that this is some warning signal of early perimenopause. After all, I’m (only) 39. I hope my ovaries have at least a solid six years left before they drop the curtain, and I answer the call of the veil by entering into prolonged abstinence.

--

--

Aurelie B.
Real Insight!

Me? 30 something French woman living in Toronto. Positive, witty & a dash sarcastic. You? Open-minded reader ready to follow me on my adventures through Medium.