Purpose

Two types

Mission driven purpose — external

External: linear, clear, part of a greater whole, fulling a mission. Brings with it a clarity of purpose that sidesteps the ambiguity of everyday life.

Internally defined purpose

Ambiguous, no existing framework for it. Not merely an external framework with no precedent for your type of person, but really no framework.

There is benefit, simplicity, clarity in the externally defined mission driven purpose, but it succeeds by creating a boundary of scope (mission), excluding everything outside it.

But is there a way for us to live with purpose without having to select an off-the-shelf product?

(2.11.21)

“I began to have an idea of my life, not as the slow shaping achievement to fit my preconceived purpose, but as the gradual discovery and growth of a purpose which I did not know.”

Joanna Field

--

--

Bruce the Moreno
Real Life of a Stranger

Philosopher | Pursuer of Purpose… I've searched for the meaning of life every day, and now share what little I've learned. The journey continues…