Real-life, real users’ stories: Uber driver app in Chile

Pame Aránguiz
Real-life, real users’ stories
2 min readJan 11, 2018

Dear Uber, you need to solve the problem of not knowing the final destination of the passenger. I’m giving you my empathy here.

First time I took Uber I was in L.A, the best experience ever. It was awesome to share thoughts, stories, and opinions with the driver.

When I arrived in Chile, I wanted to experience the same cool conversations so I started taking Uber and talking to drivers. It was actually very nice as well.

I discovered the motivations of driving Uber were different. In the US, it is common to drive for extra money and kill the time. In Chile, people are driving to get extra money or just because they don’t have another job.

Years ago, taking an Uber was really peaceful, you did not need to be worried about the driver charging you more money than It actually was or about having the cash to pay. Fairs were ad hoc to the service.

Today, Uber's service changed. Allowing paying in cash is confusing for passengers if they don’t have change. Drivers do not always have cash either, so it could be troublesome at the end of the trip.

It is also dangerous for drivers. The audience changed since Uber added the “pay in cash” option. Passengers don’t need to have a credit card. Everybody can take uber, even bad people with bad intentions. Plus, drivers are not allowed to see the final destination of the trip they accept it. So it could drive him/her anywhere, even to the worse and most dangerous neighborhood in the city. Drivers cannot set up the favorite destination for their rides. They are not guaranteed they are safe.

On the other hand, passengers are not guaranteed that the driver is a good driver.

It happened to me sometimes that the vehicle’s number did not match with the number in the app. Or some friends have been telling me about crazy Uber drivers in the city.

In Valparaíso, my friends and I, we saw death once on an Uber trip. The driver was insane on the highway. The only option for reporting him was putting 0 stars. Not safe at all.

Lately, in Chile, we have the Beat app. I’m testing it and it is good so far. I hope they don’t start making the same mistakes as Uber.

I thought Uber had a UX designer for every country they are, so they can update the branch app according to it.

I really hope they become safe again or I’ll be wondering all my life for Lyft to come to Latam =(
Cheer

___

Writing for improving my English. (And hopefully the world).

--

--

Pame Aránguiz
Real-life, real users’ stories

Creative Problem Solver. Learn, do. Growth designer @Mercadolibre. Writing to improve my English 🤓