Happy, Healthy, Wealthy and Wise

Grace Mary Power
Real Life Resilience
6 min readMar 2, 2019

--

“My cup runneth over”

Every week for around 6 months now, this phrase has been running through my head at some point of the day. The world is an interesting and big place with a lot of potential, and many streams of thoughts.

Some years ago I had a “reading” with Carrie Hart and she told me that I have a gift — that of feeling joy no matter the circumstances.

Well, this surprised me and I thought to myself “Well yes when I was younger, I did feel a deep joy or happiness all the time, but that was then and this is now.”

I have explored the meaning of joy and happiness, and I believe that it doesn’t necessarily mean over-flowing happiness, like number 10 on a scale from 1 to 10 where 1 denotes feeling totally miserable. Being happy starts with being satisfied. Positive satisfaction with what is happening personally in ones life is a big contributing factor, I have found.

Joy to me encompasses refining your coping strategies as well as being in happy personal circumstances. But the human being’s thoughts and attitude toward life can be fickle or arbitrary, as I would like to demonstrate from my personal experiences.

Starting around 2015 events at my workplace become increasingly stressful for me. There were very real unpleasant attitudes toward the…

--

--

Grace Mary Power
Real Life Resilience

Editor of Thirty over Fifty. I help you to care for yourself through spirituality and tech. We need both.