Take A.C.T.I.O.N. Towards Change

Michael Patanella
Real Life Resilience
6 min readFeb 22, 2019

Making changes can be better achieved when laid out in a way that breaks it down and shows processes needed in step by step ways. When it is presented in a way like that, it can have a more manageable tone about it, when it comes to how we look at it. There can be many things that we have the capability to do, however things seem like just one huge accomplishment, it’ll seem impossible.

I’m always reminded of my own experiences when I am in topics like this. For example, the general plan of remaining sober for the rest of my life, is something that is required for me.

To view it as something big that must be done for the rest of my life, that approach seems intimidating. A huge life change like that must be brought down to a realistic level, or it will never be done. It is something that can be a set up for failure. I’m not sitting here just doing one big thing once. Yes, I want to remain sober for life. So, I do it in the now. I am sober today; at this moment. Hour by hour, minute by minute. Or, as the popular recovery quote says, “one day at a time,” everyday.

So now, back to what this is all about. Achievements, through step by step processes. With the acronym of A.C.T.IO.N. we are going to look at taking that action, not only to get things done. Even harder, it’s going to focus on change. Making total change. So, let’s take a look, and break down A.C.T.I.O.N. Step by step we’ll learn about it; the power of action, the success of change.

With letter A, we assess our moods and behaviours. This in itself can be a nightmare; at least for me. It’s not about having a handful of issues, half a dozen moods, etc etc. I rather would refer to the number as infinite. There are curriculum style philosophies out there that have the almighty “official” lists. Lists showing what science deems as all the sole list of all emotions.

Well, I’m convinced that the list we read about in books, is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to emotions.

I don’t think I’m too crazy to say that I believe that emotions are like the universe. Endless amounts of emotions not yet discovered yet, or not yet assigned a specific name.

Don’t look at assessing one’s mood and behaviours as doing it that kind of way. Do it in a way where you are looking at what you’re doing at that moment. Why are you doing it? How does it make you feel? What do you think needs some changes, or some adjusting? Than ask if you’re making those changes. If not, when are you going to start? How do you think is the best way to get it done?

Instead of finger pointing list making names and descriptions of emotions, we go at it a different way. In a way where we are more likely to get ourselves some definitive answers.

We then take letter C, and we work on choosing alternative behaviours. We are choosing them to take place of other behaviours when necessary. We remain open minded, and we try to find new ways of facing things.

What are new approaches that we can consider, that will help in creating new founded, alternative behaviour? We want to respond to each scenario or situation specifically, for what it really is. Letting the response match the problem. Getting out of that world where we have a general way with our responses, responding seemingly in a subconscious way.

So after some choices are made, let’s try (letter T) out the alternatives that we hopefully have now discovered. It’s recommended to choose and schedule a particular time to try an alternative behaviour.

Keep in mind the fact that like most other new things, we likely will not completely master these new things, just as we don’t with most other things.

Try to mindfully practice. Keep that practice consistent, without long gaps between each one.

One interesting piece of advice I learned when recently researching this topic was one that said to make a written commitment to oneself, and commit to your own self that you will work on, and integrate the new behaviours into our regular lives.

We then want to Integrate the changes into our lives. This too, will not just happen quickly. To me, integrate means to blend one thing with another. The key during integration, is to be sure that new behaviours are not having results that are more negative, than the negative ones we had before hand. We’re at this step, because we were looking for positive changes. So, before making this move, be sure that some practice has been put forth.

Now, we start winding down this process, as the acronym goes, we hit letter O, and with that we should begin to Observe the results from this process. The curriculum might not specifically address it, but, in my own opinion, I do have some curiosity to how smooth this goes. I’m wondering if there is somewhat of an in between step.

We go right from integrate, to observing, so, like I stressed earlier, I would recommend keeping the pace slow and detailed at this juncture. Be sure to have a confidence that’s secure before moving from integrating to observing.

So finally, we end with the letter N, which is assigned to the phrase, Now evaluate. This model was developed through New Harbor Publications. Covered in their self help workbooks series. They recommend that as we are evaluating change through the A.C.T.I.O.N. acronym, points to consider addressing include first off, finding out if the changes do seem to be helping us. If we had any difficulties, which parts of the processes were most difficult? Did we use any tools outside of this model for helping the total picture? Last, how easy was the process, and does it seem to be something we can remain consistent with, and committed to?

Many readers may already know that I have an ever devoted love for acronyms. They are very popular in DBT and Mindfulness curriculums. I myself, find them easy to use, and they help me with my remembering. It may not be for everybody, however I hope that the message itself, can always finds its way through to us. There will always be times in life where change in inevitable. To be better prepared beforehand, can lighten the load of difficulty, that the journey will bring us.

--

--

Michael Patanella
Real Life Resilience

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com