The Cognitive Triangle

Michael Patanella
Real Life Resilience
4 min readJun 6, 2018

--

Cognition, The Cognitive Method, and same related, are the modern method, and the go to for techniques, and treatment when we are talking about the Mental Health field. I have been run through the ringer of behavioral cognitive therapy, with my own real life experiences, mostly I admit, as a patient, and now, I have recently thrown my hat into the ring, as a writer about it as well. One of the more simple tools, and one I am a believer in, is a Cognitive Triangle.

There are many similar tools, charts, and graphs, sometimes different shapes, and the one below is one that I revert back to often.

So, where do we start? I start, at what would seem at the most common point, the top. On top we have the category of Thoughts, and it does in turn represent the beginning.

As we read the caption, it states What we think affects how we feel and act. So, it looks like we started at the right top. I think many professionals would agree too. When I am looking back at my own mental health, I do agree that, for the most part, almost all parts of me Mental, do start on the side of thoughts. Almost, literally everything in us people, always will begin as a thought in our brain. I do also think that…

--

--

Michael Patanella
Real Life Resilience

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com