Home cured meats, aged cheeses and moroccan tagine

The best in Meditarranean organic food that Florence has to offer.

Mark Abouzeid
REAL LIVES
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

Andrea speak English, Italian, Spanish and, possibly, German.

Where: Culinaria de Gustibus Bistro, Piazza Torquato Tasso, 13 Red, 50124, Florence, Italy http://www.de-gustibus.it/en/culinaria-bistro/

When: Evenings all year long indoors. Spring and fall are ideal to grab one of the few small tables outside along the park.

I have lived in Florence for 10 years as a cultural travel photojournalist, so consider myself expert in all the best places to eat. I tried Andrea’s locale this summer and immediately added it to my list of regulars.

When I want a spot to be with my love in a relaxed but romantic atmosphere, I go there. Invariably, I leave with all my senses satisfied and the slight memory of amazing flavors.

I am Lebanese and work a lot in the middle east, but Andrea’s Moroccan chef always has a delicious surprise for me. In fact, when I needed Tagine bowl’s for my kitchen, he offered to bring them back from the next trip home to Marrakesh. His hummus is the only version other than my own that I would ever try in Florence, seriously!

Finally, there is Andrea. I admit to knowing him for a few years, now, and can honestly affirm that he loves the intercultural opportunities of his work. Expect him to stop by the table, often, to talk about his life and be willing to share yours. This is part of the exchange at Culinaria, a human one.

--

--

Mark Abouzeid
REAL LIVES

A global nomad scouring the planet for empathy and community. My life is now. My culture is the one I am in. My heritage is old, deep and nomadic.